July20-Day12 Mt Rainier,WA


Advertisement
Published: July 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

july20moses lake,wa tomt rainier,wa-phil 003july20moses lake,wa tomt rainier,wa-phil 003july20moses lake,wa tomt rainier,wa-phil 003

boondocking at Walmart-It's free!
July 20th Mt. Rainier National Park,Washington

We got up from "boondocking" at Walmart and made our way to Mt. Rainier National Park. We spent about $40 at Walmart before we left so it wasn't really free camping for us!

It took us longer than we anticiapted to get to Mt. Rainier than we thought which is becoming commonplace for us. They don't have a lot of road options in the west we've learned.

What looks like a close trip on the map really isn't! We finally made it to Mt. Rainier. Believe it or not we had to sit at a construction flag for 30 minutes in the middle of nowhere on some mountain pass while they fixed the road.-It was worth the wait as Mt. Rainier was not a dissapointment. I think it is my favorite place to date.

We drove up and up the mountain for at least 20 miles to get to the top around some horrendous twists, turns, and steep inclines. At the top the volcano was so close you felt like you could touch it. Amazing landscape with tons of wildflower meadows at the base. Joan you would have loved it. We
july20moses lake,wa tomt rainier,wa-phil 004july20moses lake,wa tomt rainier,wa-phil 004july20moses lake,wa tomt rainier,wa-phil 004

Phil had to put Lori in a cart to get her away from Walmart!
hiked a little and then just took in the sight. I didn't want to leave it was so beautiful. But we did and on the way down the cliff we drove beside was quite hairy-no guardrails. I mentioned this to Phil and he said"lori-only positive thoughts please"! I just held onto my security blanket(my pillow) and whispered "It says 15 mph,15mph-not 30". We stopped by the Grove of the Patriarchs on the way down to see some awesome 1000 year old trees. I can't even imagine how the redwoods could be bigger-but I guess I will find out! We drove on towards Mt. St. Helens and pulled into a campsight about 10:00 at night in the middle of the boondocks. Phil got the camphost out of his camper to help us while his wife(complete in housedress and curlers)made sure we had what we needed.

Kayla, Colin, Scott & Tara- We wish so much you could be here with us! wethink of you at every stop!

Phil-Let's get back to Mt Rainier. Yes, it was an unbelievable cliff, but what the heck-it would be a great way to go! Very difficult driving but that'smy job-Driving Miss Lori! To my
july20moses lake,wa tomt rainier,wa-phil 005july20moses lake,wa tomt rainier,wa-phil 005july20moses lake,wa tomt rainier,wa-phil 005

Jack In the Box for breakfast. Phil was excited to share this with Paul
boys-Kenny -remember Tuesday Thursday & Saturday even if I can't be with you. Gary-I think of you daily and how much you would marvel at the scenery.I miss you buddy. Don-Thanks for the call. By now you've gotten the travel blog. Terry-Where are you? San Diego? Is that in the US or Mexico?! Luke- I threw the wine glasses for Sara off of Mt Rushmore. What a sound but I have better gas mileage now! Mike- I can't decide which one of there weird beers to buy you! TJ, Devin & Trish-take care of my little girl and keep her safe!
PS-Hey Luke, we ran into a couple from Blacksburg today wearing Hokie gear. After talking to them I told them I would burn a couch at my campfire tonight in honor of the last time the Mountaineers beat Tech.



Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

july20moses lake,wa tomt rainier,wa-phil 007july20moses lake,wa tomt rainier,wa-phil 007
july20moses lake,wa tomt rainier,wa-phil 007

stopping for some veggies $3.30 for 3 bags
July 20 Moses Lake,WA to Mt. Rainier,WA 002July 20 Moses Lake,WA to Mt. Rainier,WA 002
July 20 Moses Lake,WA to Mt. Rainier,WA 002

Phil insisted on washing the RV
July 20 Moses Lake,WA to Mt. Rainier,WA 008July 20 Moses Lake,WA to Mt. Rainier,WA 008
July 20 Moses Lake,WA to Mt. Rainier,WA 008

Mt Rainier National Park-finally!
July 20 Moses Lake,WA to Mt. Rainier,WA 024July 20 Moses Lake,WA to Mt. Rainier,WA 024
July 20 Moses Lake,WA to Mt. Rainier,WA 024

wildflowers everywhere,but stay on the trail "Don't be a meadow stomper"
July 20 Moses Lake,WA to Mt. Rainier,WA 034July 20 Moses Lake,WA to Mt. Rainier,WA 034
July 20 Moses Lake,WA to Mt. Rainier,WA 034

I thought he'd had enoughof me and was going to throw me over!
July 20 Moses Lake,WA to Mt. Rainier,WA 068July 20 Moses Lake,WA to Mt. Rainier,WA 068
July 20 Moses Lake,WA to Mt. Rainier,WA 068

crossing the bridge in Grove of the Patriarchs
july20moses lake,wa tomt rainier,wa-phil 009july20moses lake,wa tomt rainier,wa-phil 009
july20moses lake,wa tomt rainier,wa-phil 009

hiking more-I love the cowboy hat!


22nd July 2009

These pictures are great! I almost cried looking at that view! I cant even imagine how it must be in person! You two look great!!! I love you- KP
23rd July 2009

WE miss you too. You would have been freaking out on those mountain on the way up, but you would have made it cause you're our KP! We love you and miss you tons.
29th July 2009

JACK IN THE BOX!!! 3 Super Tacos please!!!!!!!!!!

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0816s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb