Lots of Action!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Burlington
April 10th 2010
Published: April 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We have been quite busy; both teachers and students! First, we went to the fire station and skating this week. The kids were able to try on all the gear and that they did! Next, the students had an art class by one of our artists in residence on ink/brush drawings. The subject was pandas. I think that the German students did very well and once again, art proves to break through all barriers, including language! The German teachers have been busy teaching my German classes and even playing with my Smart Board. They are a bit envious of that piece of technology! On Thursday we took a delightful trip to Deception Pass. The weather cooperated with us, so all was good. Timo and a few others were sprayed by an incoming wave. I don't think they minded too much!

Lastly, I want to tell a little story about how important I think this exchange is. One of my students, who is a very sweet and energetic young man, whispered to me yesterday as he was coming back from lunch. We had "hosted" a German student, Jan in our classroom for the day. My student whispered to me "thanks for letting me spend time with Jan, he's like the big brother I never had." How sweet is that?

Enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.289s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.06s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb