Bulgaria Preparations and Randomness


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia
June 9th 2011
Published: June 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Wow! So I cannot believe that in 12 days I will be on my first plane ride ever and on my way to Bulgaria! So excited! Eeek!
I just wanted to share some general information (but not too detailed) about what will be going on while I am there and what the preparation has been like so far for this trip.
Today we had our 1st team conference call and it went well. We mainly went over guidelines and talked about our packing list, so it wasn't anything too intense.
I guess the one thing that has bothered me the most today is realizing how poor of an area we are going into. When planning on going to Egypt, they were different and in need and ready to take what we had, but this is an area that literally has very little or what we in America would consider "nothing". They take saving money very seriously over there, and it really made me evaluate just how selfish I am today. I go out and buy things that I say I need, but yet, I don't need them. Sure new clothes are nice and what not, but when you hear about gypsy children who don't have clothes it messes with you. A few months and even weeks ago I was so caught up in having the right clothes for this trip, and making sure I had enough to get me through, that I was so inconsiderate of the people we are training, even the leaders, and the kids who wash and wear the same clothes day after day, after day, after day.
My feet haven't even touched the ground over there yet, but I find myself in tears already wondering how I can just go and leave them like that. I bought a couple of kid's outfits today that I can hopefully fit into my suitcase or carry-on to take, but I know its not enough which still makes it sad.
We should have internet access at where we will be staying (its not a hotel, by the way), so I am hoping to post on here some when possible, and most definitely send out emails to my prayer contacts, family, and friends.
Please continue to be praying for us and for the people of Bulgaria.
Blessings

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb