Harpers Ferry, Gettysburg, and Antietam


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia
May 10th 2018
Published: May 16th 2018
Edit Blog Post

On the 10th and 11th, I spent exploring Civil War sites. On the way to Gettysburg, I did a quick stop in Harpers Ferry, West Virgini. I would have spent more time there but it was raining pretty hard. Very quaint old town.

I arrived into Gettysburg and tried again to get an individual guide that would come into my car with me. When I tried to make reservations before, all of the guides were booked. When I arrived, I was very lucky and I was able to book a guide to give me an individual tour. I learned so much about the part of the Civil War that occurred in Gettysburg. The three day battle took place on July 1-3, 1863. I learned the position of the troops and the chances/mistakes that were made. My guide was very knowledgeable.... it was an amazing tour. The next morning, I viewed a movie on the Gettysburg battle and then saw a Cyclorama. The Cyclorama is a huge (larger than a football field) oil painting in the round that depicts a charge from General Pickett during the 3rd and last day of the battle.

Just after noon, I drove to Sharpsburg where the Battle of Antietam took place on September 17, 1862. It was the first battle that took place in the north, but more importantly, it was the bloodiest day in US history. 22,717 soldiers were killed, wounded or missing. I have a friend whose 4 times great grandfather fought in this battle with the New York brigade. He was on of the lucky ones.

Being in the cemeteries of both battlefield was very eerie


Additional photos below
Photos: 52, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0814s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb