Work, Work Go Away, Come Again Another Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Richmond
October 23rd 2006
Published: October 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post





"The time has come," the Walrus said,
"To talk of many things:
Of shoes--and ships--and sealing-wax--
Of cabbages--and kings--
And why the sea is boiling hot--
And whether pigs have wings."

Lewis Carroll
The Walrus & The Carpenter, 1872

Kel quotes this poem often and has, in my opinion, little knowledge or care of the true meaning of the poem. While I know the poem has a deep seated meaning of corruption and political commentary, I quote it hear because it always makes me think of anticipation. I’m sure it has everything to do with the first phrase in the verse quoted above…hey, at least I’m honest when it comes to my slightly simple thought process. 😊

Work Ends



Yup, we have both finished our last day of work. Mine was October 13th and Kel’s was this past Friday, October 20th (which was also my 29th B-day, YAY for Mikey-T…also Happy B-Day to my main man Snoop Dog who turned 34). The build up to the final day of work was excruciating for me, as you can read about in my last entry, but for Kel there was very little build up to departure. Her Capital One team worked her for every last bit of time up until 4pm on Friday, which made her last week seem quick and more like a normal work week than mine. I was much less busy, which is understandable since I was a very project oriented worker…not smart to give a bunch of new work to someone who won’t be around to finish it…

Kel and I invited a bunch of co-workers to meet us at Capital Ale House in the West End of Richmond on Thursday the 19th in order to say good bye to our friends. A bunch of people showed up (see attached pictures) which was really great. It gave us a great chance to chat with friends and share some time reminiscing about our past 6 years. Gus, one of my old managers was there, along with Bill and Scott who both managed me 4 or more years ago when I first started at Cap One. Jeff Alred showed up, he is directly responsible for Kel and I getting together. He planted the seed in my head by mentioning the fact that he was sure we would date…which at the time I had never thought about. Kel’s Capital One team showed up in force. Dana, a good friend of both Kel and I, stuck around and chatted with Sean and me. Overall, it was a great turn out. Thanks everyone we really appreciate it!

Prep for Travel



We spent this past weekend buying toiletries and getting the final few things we need for our travels. We have also started packing up the house, which you can guess is a blast. Just SOOOOO much fun!! Woo Hoo! We also sold the MDX, which made Kel a little sad since she absolutely loved that car when we were dating.

We have one more week to finish all the work and get ready to go. New Saturday we fly out to Jen and Jeff’s wedding in Negril, Jamaica which I’m sure will be fantastic. Once we return we have less than a week and then we are gone!!

We’ll keep you posted about everything…hope everything is great with everyone.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



23rd October 2006

Lewis Carroll
The Lewis Carroll thing is genetic. I myself can recite "The Jabberwocky" entirely from memory..."'Twas brilling, and the slithy toves did gyre and gimble in the wabe: All mimsy were the borogoves, And the mome raths outgrabe...." Unexplainable, but genetic.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb