Nervousness Ensues as Time Dwindles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Richmond
September 6th 2006
Published: September 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

First and foremost, welcome new subscribers! I realize many of you have signed yourselves up (or in the case of the W&M group, been signed up by Kel) since the last blog entry was created. Obviously there will be more entries after the trip begins and I hope they will all be more frequent and more interesting. For now, be content with knowing that we are thinking of you all every time we look at this blog page.

Time Dwindles


As of today I officially have 25 days left at work (Kel has more like 30 because she's choosing to work an extra week). It has become apparent to me that my life is about to change in ways that I can't truly comprehend. First I have 5 calendar weeks of work to get through which entails transitioning projects, hopefully getting a new person on my team hired into my job and trained, and, of course, the obligatory good-byes which despite my bravado, will be hard and strange. I have worked at Capital One for 6 years and will actually be sad to leave. I leave behind a great company and great people whom I will always remember.

Then after work ceases, I have three weeks to prepare for the trip. For those of you who wonder, prep has many different connotations in this case. Cleaning the house, preparing lists of vendors we use so that our tenants have an idea of who to call in an emergency, transferring billing addresses to my parents house because they will be handling our financial affairs while we are away (Thanks Mom & Dad!!), getting the last clothes needed to the trip, packing, rereading guide books, etc. I expect that these last few weeks will be crazy. We also have Kel's family coming to town to see us off, so there will even be some entertaining to do. Whew!! It stresses me out just considering it. 😊

This is the point that two things come to my rescue. First, the organizational tactics learned at Capital One actually do have real life application, who would've thought it, huh? Kel and I, like the nerds we are, actually wrote a list of all the things we need to accomplish over the next 8 weeks or so, and while we haven't done many of them yet at least I know what we have to do. Second, and considerably more important, is my wonderful, loving wife. Kel is the reason I haven't gone completely insane on multiple occasions. She is a bastion of calm in the tempest that is life. Just having her around makes things easier and without her I certainly wouldn't have even considered something as daunting as this trip. For those of you borderline OCD types out there, you probably understand best what I'm going through at points. I swing hour by hour from complete and utter excitement to crazy nervousness because of all the things that must be accomplished. Without Kel, I couldn't do it...Period!!

Trip Planning as it Stands Today


So, enough of the craziness talk. Here's the fun stuff!!

We made our plans for the first nights we will be in Europe. We will be staying the Poet's House in Lisbon. Here's the link Poet's House We have a reservation here for the first ten days we are in Europe. Now here's the part that will throw all you OCD types back into a tizzy...we don't have any other reservations because we don't know where we are going next. HAHA!! Think on that a while!!

More fun information. At this point we are almost certain that we will be exiting Europe in early 2007 for a visit to Asia. Kel's aunt lives in Bangkok so we will almost certainly be going to Bangkok to visit her for a couple of weeks. Conveniently enough, one of my best friends from college, Brian Schiller, has just accepted an offer to spend a year in Singapore and therefore, why not visit him as well. With us that close to other amazing destinations we may travel a few other places as well, but I stand firm in my resolve that Europe is our main destination so our trip to Asia will only be a side trip at most.

Well, enough info for now. I have much to do prior to the 7th of November. Thanks for reading and feel free to leave comments, I promise we'll read them and respond.

Looking forward to upcoming adventures,

Mike T.



Advertisement



20th October 2006

Thanks for sending us the link. Chase and I are looking forward to following your very exciting journey over the next year. It may be a great learning experience for everyone. Good luck and happy travels from your friends back on the loop. E
22nd October 2006

best wishes to you both
I am so excited for you guys. I can't wait to read more - you guys definitely need to put this in a book! Kelley, I know we talked about this, but you really need to do it - especially for all of those of us living vicariously through you for the next year! Wishing you both safe travels and lots of fun!

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb