Planes,Trains,Ferrys and Coaches


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Richmond
January 7th 2008
Published: January 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

AtlantaAtlantaAtlanta

View of Atlanta from the Amtrak
I got at 8am as i was distracted by Andi's alarm in the other room and i got showered and got my gear together and said goodbye to Andi and said my goodbyes to Myron and the two Dave's, by around 9am i got my stuff together including the pack lunch Andi had made for me and headed for the bus stop and i got the bus to main street and walked over to main street station.

The first train was due in at 10.27 am to Dc and was an hour late i then proceeded to get on the Amtrak train and my rucksack got caught on me and the door and i lost one of my set of traveling beads as it snagged and burst. I got my gear stowed and sat down and the inspector/conductor came for tickets and thats when i refer back to my previous entry and the fact i showed my pass, but it turns out i need the pass to book a ticket for each period of travel.

The conductor advised me to get a ticket at Richmond Staples Mill station as they stopped there for 5 minutes and i rushed into the ticket office at the station at Staples and the ticket guy advised he couldn't do it in time and to do it in DC. I advised the conductor and awaited my arrival in DC and when i got to Dc i went to book my ticket and the train to Birmingham was nearly full and instead of a coach ticket, i needed a reserve coach ticket and so i needed to pay an extra $43 on top of the $469 i had paid for the pass and so now i have even less cash. but i paid it as i couldn't stay in DC till the following days train.

The Birmingham train was the New Orleans bound train and was not due till 6.30pm and it was 2pm and so i had a 4 hour plus wait in Union station and so it was boring and i eat when im bored so i eat that much i had a stomach ache by the time the train arrived.

I got on the train to Birmingham and i was sat next to a nice chap from New Orleans called John and he was heading back from Boston and so quite a long ride from him, we chatted for a while and then he went to get a drink and i decided to go to sleep around 10pm, i drifted in an out of sleep on and off and finally awoke at Atlanta in Georgia.

I then watched the countryside wash by and listen to my Ipod until i finally reached Birmingham at 12 noon on the 8th Jan.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0899s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb