New England Fall Colors Trip 2011


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Vermont
October 15th 2011
Published: March 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Fall Colors!

You don't really get to experience them living in Texas. Plus Fall begins my favorite time of the year with Halloween and Dia de los Muertos and all manner of Fall Fests! It was only natural that I take a quick trip to the New England area to witness some colors in my life at last.

I decided to meet the Great Canadian Himself, Horty for a few days of fun and sightseeing. I landed in Manchester, NH and met Horty then headed to Concord for some sightseeing. We drove around the area looking at colors and eating at small local places. I always prefer local eateries when out and about. We ended up in Maine for some touring of the USS Albacore submarine. Its amazing to see how tight they fit them inside.

After saying goodbye to Horty, who had to head back to colder climates before his heart thawed out, I spent some time in Cape Elizabeth touring the amazing lighthouse in the area. Really, its my favorite lighthouse. I spent the rest of my time there touring the area and looping around New England in a counterclockwise manner. I saw beautiful colors on the trees and covered bridges. I experienced cold winds up in the mountains and wonderful waterfalls. I snacked on delicious fresh-picked apples and saw Montepelier in the night. I feasted on lobster and mussels.

My last day was spent trying to see as much as possible as I drove from Connecticut to back to New Hampshire. I took a walk through the Mystic Sea Port area and rested on the beaches of Rhode Island. I walked the streets of Salem before headed back to Manchester for my flight.

I have two regrets. 1) Not taking enough time to properly view everything!!!! 2) Buying a maple leaf shaped bottle of maple syrup that was too BIG! I wasn't allowed to take it on my carry on! I offered to drink half of it so that I could reach the allowed limit but was turned down. *Sigh*


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb