Road Trip 2008--With El Verde


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah
June 6th 2008
Published: June 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Second Stop St. George--Quick jaunt from Vegas





A couple of quick notes/Thank yous:

Laptop provided by Kimi Klasser--because I am too cheap and uninformed to buy a one
Digital camera provided by Jon Nimetz---because I am too cheap and uninformed to buy one
Writer--Nicole Ariola
Director--Nicole Ariola
Producer--Nicole Ariola


"el verde" is a work in progress for the name of my Prius--because it is a GREEN car..... I am spending too much time alone.

Well I was on the road from Terrible's and realized St. George is only 160 miles away. I could not believe how close it actually was. Driving down the 15 past the Vegas Strip, I noticed that the hotels and strip are extremely from the back side. I guess "The of the craps" has never allowed me to travel this far on the 15. The aluminum pink circus tent type roof of Circus Circus was a huge eyesore. Well, Circus Circus is an eyesore from the front too. As i pass through this ugly/scary part of Vegas (keep in mind it is 10:30am, how scary can it be?), I contemplate hijacking a gnome, flamingo, blow up doll so I have something to take pictures with/of during my trip. I get the stealing the lawn gnomes concept now. One glitch, they cannot take pictures of me.

About a half hour later I have bypassed the ugly part of Vegas and entered the desert towards St. George. I just finished a books on tape from the Laughlin Roadtrip last weekend. LA Times by Stuart Woods. It was very good. I have not read or listened to any of his works before. I do recommend at least this book. I check the radio to see what kind of tunes they play out here. I discover 104.7 ---an amzing variety of good old fashioned Vegas classics of Dean Martin, Tony Bennet, Frank Sinatra and new singers singing their songs. Further down the road I find a variety of old classics from my life---Careless Whispers, Ace of Bass ( is that how you spell it, if not that is how it should be) Of course the further you get away from any large city you always have a slew of stations that play various "Hair band" music that you or at least I never even heard the name. In addtion to the "Hairbands," you also find a bunch of stations playing music your parents had on 8-track, Sweet, KC and the Sunshine band.
As I am finding my groove on the radio, I find my self suddenly surrounded by gorgeous rock formations. I start to wonder why I have never been on this roadtrip. ( I actually know why, I would much rather be on an Island) The formations remind me of the Gold Rusher ride at Knott's Berry Farm. I gues that is what they were trying to portray. Maybe this roadtrip is unnecessary, I just need to go to Amusement Parks. ( I digress) Even more amazing I come across an area that has a beautiful stretch of Green pastures. It was such a brilliant green it made the turf in the Astrodome look like it needs water. This phenomenon could be because it is on a river or, more likely, it is such a contrast to the barren and bland desert scene I have had to endure for the last 3 hours. I am suddenly surrounded on both sides of the road by HUGE beautifully water carved mountains. I am feeling a little ignorant for not doing this years ago. I am contemplating eating some humble pie and visiting the other vowel states. I think I am just hungry.

Well just a mere 6 hours after I left Santa Monica, I arrive in the little town of St. George. After, thinking about the Godmother Sub, I am craving a delicious sandwich. I ask the girls at the bank and several swear by Phatz. Seriously, Phatz in the town of Poligamy and Mormon tradition. I head a couple blocks down the street to P-H-A-T-Z Phatz sandwich shop. I notice a couple of bookstores along the way and wanted to test the theory of wether or not Utah bookstores carry the book "Under the banner of Heaven" I start this mission. I arrive at {hatz and the first thing you notice, it is directly across the street from a Cemetery. It is not as bleak and creepy since there is a pleothera of fake flowers covering almost all of the "entrants." I am not sure if I can eat outside. The next thing you notice, the door says "welcome to Phatz, sandwiches you will die for" Fantastic, funny sandwich makers. The sandwich was pretty tasty.
Next step, I head to my B&B "The Seven Wives Inn" The original owner use to hide the poligamist formt he government whent he banned Poligamy back in 1882. I get the most amazing Hot Stone Massage I cannot wait to return to St. George. After my massage and a relaxing hot shower, I head to The Painted Pony for a delicious meal. All I have to say---Brie baked in Phyllo with Blackberry compote and roasted Garlic. I think there should be a restaurant that makes everything in phyllo. It just makes all food extra tasty.

I head back to my little house to prep myself for Zion Nationa Park and Bryce Canyon.


Bookstores= 3
Under the Banner of Heaven = 0



Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb