Day 26 - Antelope Island, Utah


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Salt Lake City
October 7th 2011
Published: October 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Based in Salt Lake City, this morning, Eric, Prue and I had decided to head for Antelope Island state park, in the Salt Lake. There was a road connecting the island with the mainland.

We had a fun time trying to figure out how to get there, as Eric's GPS was stuffing up, taking us along different routes.

We stopped by a truck stop in Syracuse where I had a bite to eat and had a little bit of small talk with the girl behind the counter. She seemed to be quite happy to see an Australian. We then got to the island at around noon.

This island was deserted. Very primitive and interesting. I saw salt deposits along the shore line. This lake is pretty salty. Well I would hope so; it is called Salt Lake after all. I sampled a drop.

The visitor's centre was pretty good. I saw a tank of shrimps swimming around, and to me it looked like primitive life forms; I was fascinated by it.

Then we headed to the ranch at the other end of the island. The house here was at least one hundred years old. It was interesting to walk around and check out the cellars, basements and farms.

After we were done on this island, Eric dropped me off at my hostel where we said goodbye for the last time. I appreciated my time with him and Prue, and should see them both again at some time in the future. Maybe they'll come to Australia.

I checked into my hostel and settled down with some new friends.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb