Day 25 - Zion National Park, Utah


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Zion National Park
October 6th 2011
Published: October 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Eric and Prue had come to the hostel to pick me up at 1am. I was napping for a little bit, even though I didn't have the night booked here. Eric was going to drive us to Zion National Park and then, Salt Lake City.

So until 7am, I was getting sleep in Eric's car. I managed a fair bit, and even dreamed.

So we got to the park, and it was quite freezing. Good thing, I had my luggage with me, and therefore, a jacket. We set off and began hiking through the park.

Prue was always getting far behind us, which Eric and I would laugh about. We all had a good time though; for the most part, it was just Eric and I discussing interesting topics that I always like to discuss, including politics, even though I know hardly anything about it. Anyway, I'm going for Ron Paul to be president next year. Like that's relevant.

Zion National Park itself was amazing. We hiked up a few trails and saw plenty of waterfalls, rock underhangs and a river which looked like it had been made out of chocolate milk.

We spent most of the day here. We got some burgers to eat and then drove through a massive tunnel. After this it was time to journey to Salt Lake City, which would be another five hours away.

We stopped at a truck stop, and I connected my computer to the Wi-Fi here to book a place to stay in Salt Lake City; I hadn't yet. No hostel was available, so I had to book a hotel. Eric and Prue were going to stay at the same one if they could; we were on our way there.

Then came the interesting part. Snow. Yes, I said snow. Through the highway, we saw snow up at the mountains, and as we drove further, we got closer to the snow level, as we were constantly going up in elevation. Then it began. I was seeing snow once again. It was beautiful. Snow is something I rarely see, and I love it. It must have been zero degrees outside.

It was not too long after that we headed through a snow storm. The road started to become scary. I was enjoying it though; I haven't seen snow since 2008.

This snow storm didn't last forever; we were soon out of it, and back into the clear, though, still with snow on the ground. I hoped I would see some snow at the Arches, but I wouldn't want a storm there where I wouldn't be able to see anything.

Eric asked me to take over the driving for a while, about an hour out of Salt Lake City. No probem; we got to our hotel at 9:30pm, and we checked in and that was it for the night. I think I should mention I ordered pizza though. Because, that's pretty important.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.1791s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb