Panic attack!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Salt Lake City
December 16th 2006
Published: December 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, my friends, I am just days away from departure. I am looking around my house making sure that everything is in order and that I have everything I will need. In reality, I will be taking very little with me. Most of the items I will need for day to day life in Asia can be purchased there and for a lot less cash than I would have to spend here. That said, I have this little voice echoing around my head that every traveler should be familiar with. It whispers, "You're going to forget something important." I certainly hope not. Since I will be on the exact opposite side of the planet, this would be quite unfortunate.

Despite the rising panic and anxiety, I am quite excited to get underway. I am lucky enough to be traveling with some very good friends. I anticipate that there will be many arguments and disagreements. Nothing new, really. We've been traveling to and from Burning Man for years; it's all part of the experience. But, I also believe that we will have an amazing and thought provoking experience. Our trip will cover a lot of miles, but most importantly, it will cover many different cultures and belief systems. I have traveled throughout this great country of our's, but this will be my first experience as an international traveler. I really don't count Mexico or Canada. They are beautiful and interesting nations in their own right, but they are essentially right next door. Their cultures, while in some respects quite different from our's, are still routed in great part to European social and religious tradition.

I am prepared to be caught off guard. I look forward to obtaining a more enlightened global view. Most importantly, I am going to have fun.

Wish me luck!

Advertisement



19th December 2006

Bon Voyage
Go Nate Go! Remember to have fun!
20th December 2006

NATE!
Nate, don't die! Keep us updated!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 4; ; mem: 1.1mb