Bryce Canyon: In Which the Author Hikes Bryce Canyon National Park


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Bryce Canyon
August 25th 2009
Published: August 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah

Hikes: Queens Garden and Navajo Loop trails.

Monday, August 24, 2009 Bryce Canyon Utah

After blogging last night (and getting the last pictures uploaded just before time ran out) and getting a great night’s sleep, Sophie nuzzled me at the break of dawn to go out. I realized that Sunrise Point was calling, but I was still at the Pillow View Point…I roused myself out of the sleeping bag a couple of hours later, and spent a few minutes with my morning routing, stolen from my friend, J.T., which consists of reading for a while in the tent (I’m almost through with my “Mountain Climbing Disaster” book).
For breakfast, in keeping with my “stepping up the culinary food,” I sliced whole potatoes and fried them in olive oil, simultaneously making coffee and cooking the remaining 4 veggie burgers (two for the hash browns, two for lunch). I also used the last of the “Yellowstone O’Hara coffee.
I also had a chance to talk a bit with my neighbor, Arthur H. I was only half wrong when I thought they (Arthur and his wife, whose name I did not catch) belong to the large group of European tourists present in Bryce Canyon National Park. They live in the states, in Queens, New York, but are lucky enough to be on “European work contracts,” meaning that they’re still able to enjoy the wonderful month August vacation afforded many workers. When Arthur mentioned that he works for a Swiss media company, with his good looks, it wasn’t hard for me to guess that he was on-air television talent. He is, working for Swiss Public Television.
Like many Europeans, he and his wife have been to many places in the United States; this trip included Yellowstone, Tetons, Zion, Bryce, Salt Lake City, and Slot Canyons. They’re traveling around in a rented red convertible Mustang, the all-American muscle cars. He admitted that he’s taken it up to 110 on the freeways south of Salt Lake.
We chatted about nature (both Switzerland and his wife’s home nation of Finland) are “mostly natural,” music and Woodstock (he likes the country singer-songwriters), New York life (“We eat out more than we eat in”), and politics (Obama’s high ratings in Europe, the Bad Bush, etc.). His Mustang belt buckle and clothes show his true appreciation of America and all it has to offer.
After our chat, I headed to the “Bryce General Store” to shower ($2 for 10 minutes) and shave (shedding my “Mountain Man” look, as Jennifer calls it), get some postcards and a souvenir t-shirt for Jennifer, laundry (second time in a month), and to recharge the computer (still behind on the Uinta National Forest blogs). I was also able to recycle my batteries, which I have been carrying around for 2000 miles. Nice touch for Bryce Canyon. With all the lazy activities/chores, the time is already 3:40 in the afternoon. Being at Sunset Point, with the dark storm clouds looming, I’ll probably take my first hike down into the canyon, since the truck is cool enough for Sophie.



For Immediate Release
Pyle Said to Like Canyons

Dateline: Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah, United States


“Wow! Canyons are really amazing!” exclaimed 43-year old David Pyle of Chicago as he exited the second of two hikes that both sunny and overcast afternoon. “I’ve never been to serious canyons before, and this is beyond belief!”

National Park employees were impressed with Pyle’s enthusiasm. “He seemed to be talking and joking with a number of people on the trail, including the old ‘I’ll take a picture of the three of you’ and then faking like he was running off with their cameras,” said Retired Volunteer Nate Johnson.

“I got hypnotized down there,” said Pyle, after beginning the 392-foot decent into the Sunrise Peak’s ‘Queens Garden’ trail. I kept telling myself, ‘This is the last shot; I’m putting away my camera,’ only to round the corner of the trail, passing huge 150-foot boulders to arrive at a new, totally unique view, to exclaim, ‘Damn,’ while pulling the camera back out again.”

“I passed a few people every once in a while,” said Pyle, “But for the most part, it was an excellent solitary experience. My only regret is that I didn’t have a better camera to capture the images.” The well-worn trail experience continued after a quick bite to eat and to check on his dog, Sophie, by a short drive over to the aptly-named “Sunset Canyon,” where Pyle completed the 1.5 mile “Navajo Loop” trail. “The hikes were excellent—not too long or hot at all,” Pyle commented.

With over 550 pictures taken, selection for the www.travelblog.org site might be tough, as Pyle states, “With over 550 pictures taken, selection for the www.travelblog.org site might be tough.”

Whenever one wants adventure, great photographs in an ever-changing and evolving landscape, and a nice, quite hike off the road, then Bryce Canyon National Park is for you!


Enjoy the “quick pick” of the pictures…






Additional photos below
Photos: 79, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0806s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb