Port Aransas - San Antonio - Harmony


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » San Antonio
March 16th 2012
Published: March 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Port Aransas to Harmony via San Antonio


March 16 – Port Aransas – San Antonio - Harmony - I headed for home via a side trip to San Antonio. I stopped at a rest area about halfway between Corpus Christi and San Antone to send out a few emails and eat lunch. Most Rest Areas in Texas have free Wi-Fi. I was planning on going to San Antonio, stopping to check out things on the River Walk for a bit, and then going to the Northside to visit my sister Laura. I stopped at the rest area to eat my tuna (since it’s Lent) because I’m not about to pay the outrageous prices they charge for seafood in restaurants…..and then it isn’t all that good anyway. Also it’s just not a good idea to arrive at an event like a starving dog…One must preserve their dignity…And also of course to check my emails and facebook page etc. Also I need to do a little homework on the St Patricks day celebration in San Antonio…..Happy St Patricks Day everyone !!!.......I arrived in San Antonio and just decided to go to my sisters house and come back to the River Walk later that evening. Heading north on Hwy 281 towards loop 410 I ran into a severe back up on Hwy 281 account of an accident. I got close to 410 and all I could see was backed up cars on each side as everyone was diverting onto Loop 410 off 281 to try and get around the wreck further up. Since I am familiar with I spent a couple of hours trying to get to the Northside of San Antonio but couldn’t find a way. So I said heck with it and decided to just go to the St Patricks Day Celebration downtown and go to my sisters later…..When I got downtown every street and parking lot was packed. I guess because of St Patricks Day and Spring Break. So after some attempts at finding a place to park or at just moving on the streets a bit I said heck with it again and just turned on S. Alamo Street and found my way to I-10 and headed East out of town to Seguin then up on Hwy 46 to New Branfels on I-35, thus sidestepping heavy traffic, and back to Harmony. Some other time perhaps.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.591s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 18; qc: 80; dbt: 0.3062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb