Wonderful Candy..YUMMY!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » San Antonio
August 11th 2009
Published: August 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Coming up with fun things to do with your children on regular days can be a challenge. While watching the Foodnetwork channel I got an idea to see if any Candy factories or unique Candy stores was in our city. After searching the internet I came across the web page for the Candy Lounge. I must admit the colorful graphics of the page drew me in and the promise of 50 diffrent types of soda from diffrent places. How could that not be fun?! I wasn't sure how this was going to to over with my kids at first but I got my children excited talking about the place and showing them the web page.

I discovered it was on the same street as the McNay Art Museum, easy location. When we arrived we were pleaseantly surprised at the cute little candy cafe. The walls were decorated in fun candy stripes and bright delicious jars of candy were neatly stocked on the shelves. The shelves held some of the old favorites of the my generation like those lil packs of Now and Laters, Candy Cigarettes and Sugar lollipops to name a few of the items. Behind the counter were jars of Chocolate covered pretzel sticks, Fudge bars, and other Chocolate goodies.

In the center of the room was a table with clear tubes that the kids could make their own colorful pixie stix with diffrent flavored sugar sand. The soda bar was decorated with 50 diffrent bottles of the types of soda to choose from. $2.50 each bottle. You can choose to sip it there or take them with you. My children were having a difficult time deciding which one to choose but the staff was very friendly and patient with them. The server talked about the diffrent flavors to make sure it would pick something they would enjoy drinking. I appreciated that a $2.50 a bottle! I got a kick out of the whimsical labels on some of them. Among the flavors was a Jolly Rancher Apple, I had no idea they made a soda!

After drinking and getting their candy bags together I allowed them to play with the video games. I couldn't resist playing Mrs. Pac-Man. Hey, I deserve a little treat myself at times! This was a fun Little diversion to our everyday routine. I would highly recommend parents stopping by this place for a some fun and giggles for yourself or with the kids!

Our Soda review:

Banana Flavored- 3 stars (med)
Bluberry Flvored-5 stars (yum)
Chocalate egg cream-1 star (not yum)
Jolly Ranchers Green Apple-5 stars (YUM!)







Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1733s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb