Days 38, 39 and 40 - Good Times and Good Friends In San Antonio !!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » San Antonio
July 14th 2008
Published: July 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Shop ! Shop ! Shop !Shop ! Shop ! Shop !Shop ! Shop ! Shop !

Where else can you find $6.00 t-shirts ??
Day 38 - July 14th HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOMA !!!!

Let me start by saying that today is my Mother's Birthday and I would like to wish her the happiest Birthday ever all the way from Texas !! She is the best mother anyone could ever ask for and she deserves a happy day !! I Love you Moma and I hope you have many many more !!


Well, this morning started off with a big bang and I mean literally !! Tim and I were awaken by a loud unfamiliar clanking noise followed by a very loud explosion type sound sometime around 8:15 a.m.. It was only a few minutes later that we realized the air conditioning was not working and neither was anything else ! Since we were in the Wal-Mart parking lot and not a campground, we were operating one hundred percent off of the generator, so we both knew this wasn't going to be good. We hopped up and began checking things out. A few minutes later Tim looks at me and says "It seems that the generator has seen its last hour because the "big bang" we heard was it blowing up !!" I
Mexican Market !Mexican Market !Mexican Market !

I had a blast shopping here !!
replied, "I guess it could have been much worse, it could have went out around midnight and left us stranded all night." Our original plan for the day was to get ready and spend the day sight seeing in San Antonio while we waited for Leanne and Jesse to get off of work, but with no generator, we had no way to shower or anything !! Of course Leanne and Jesse had already left for work and they didn't leave us a key because we weren't suppose to be there until they got home, so I called her to see if a neighbor may have a key or something. She gave me the code to the garage door and so, as Tim drove us over to her place, I began looking for the emergency number for the Coachmen dealerships and stuff. We arrived at Leanne's within a few minutes and Tim started unloading our stuff while I was punching the garage code into the keypad. We were standing outside her house in San Antonio, in our pajamas, with our little shower buckets and suitcases, trying to get the door open but it wouldn't open. After several attempts, Tim was like
Outside the Mexican Market !Outside the Mexican Market !Outside the Mexican Market !

Tim and I had lunch here outside the market !
"let me try" so I just got out of the way so he could do it because I obviously didn't have a clue how to punch in four numbers followed by the "enter" button !! Well, he couldn't get it to work either so I called Leanne back at work to make sure I heard the code right. She proceeded to call Jesse at work who informed her that she had given me the wrong code, she gave me the correct numbers and voila we were inside (looks like I'm not an idiot after all, yeah) !!! I thought it was hot in Austin yesterday, but let me tell you, Austin ain't got nothing on San Antonio !! Tim and I unloaded all the dirty clothes and everything we would need for the next couple of days and then he headed straight for the Coachmen dealership to have the generator checked out. I marched right into the guest bathroom and took what would be the longest, most relaxing shower I had experienced in a very long time. Leanne had everything all set up for our stay, from the fluffy towels on the dresser to the fresh crisp bed linens, thanks
Look at All the Stuff !!Look at All the Stuff !!Look at All the Stuff !!

Can you guess what you're getting ??
Leanne ! I started on the laundry and then made me a tomato sandwich with the tomatoes we bought at the local fruit stand on the way over last night. The tomatoes were good but they weren't Daddy's !! It was such a wonderful feeling to be sitting on a couch, after a long shower and a good lunch, in the air conditioning and just chilling out. Well, that only lasted for a few minutes because Tim called and said that the generator was in really bad shape and they had to order $1,100.00 worth of parts and it would be a couple of days before he could have it ready. I wasn't worried about the time frame but I was worried about the money, that is until Tim took a taxi to Leanne's and came in to tell me that it was all covered under the warranty !!! Hallelujah !! He rested for a few minutes and then took a shower all the while I was relaxing in Jesse's brand new leather recliner. NICE !! Tim and I just sat back and enjoyed each other until Jesse and Leanne returned home from work around 6:30 p.m.. It was so
Market Square in San Antonio !Market Square in San Antonio !Market Square in San Antonio !

This place has EVERYTHING !!
awesome to see her come through the door !! We just hugged and hugged and we made our introductions and then we headed out for dinner. They took us to the nearby Texas Roadhouse for some delicious fillets and finger-licking ribs. We stayed there for quite a while talking and catching up on the last twenty years, it was so cool seeing Leanne again and her husband is a really great guy !! After dinner they rode us around town for a little while giving us a sneak peak at what we would be experiencing tomorrow. They showed us all the hot spots to check out and then we headed back to the house where we had some great conversation and then we all called it a night. It's off to check out San Antonio tomorrow so until then, good night and God bless !!!

Day 39 - July 15th The Riverwalk and The Alamo !!!!

Tim, being the wonderful husband he is, let me sleep in while he got up at 8:00 a.m. to take Leanne downtown to work so we could use her car today instead of having to rent one. Actually, I should give Leanne
La Margarita !!La Margarita !!La Margarita !!

Me and the hostess at La Margarita's, the restaurant we ate at for lunch today !
the respect she deserves by acknowledging the fact that she is a board certified psychologist in the cancer department at the children's cancer hospital in San Antonio, so that would be Dr. Leanne Segovia to us. I think it's pretty cool that a fellow Hampton girl grew up to be a doctor, Go Hampton and Go Leanne !! When Tim returned from dropping Leanne off at work, we rested a little while longer and the we got up and began preparing ourselves for the busy day that we had planned. We got ready and headed into downtown San Antonio to the Market Square. This place is commonly known around town as the "Mexican Market". It is this huge building, kinda like our Peachtree Peddler's, with individual booths set up all over inside !! I was in souvenir heaven and couldn't wait to start shopping and Tim was being such a great sport as he followed me around carrying all the bags. We shopped and goofed around for a couple of hours until we had worked up an appetite, so we spotted a Mexican restaurant and decided to try it out. Of course you know the first thing I asked for
It's Not Like At Home !!It's Not Like At Home !!It's Not Like At Home !!

Tim eating the orange cheese dip !!
was cheese dip and I almost fell out of my chair when he said "I'll have that right out for you !". I should have known it was too good to be true and it was. He did bring out a bowl of cheese dip but it was nacho cheese (orange) dip not the white kind like we have, oh well, it would just have to do until I could get home and get some of the good stuff. After lunch we got back in the car and drove over to explore the Alamo and to do some sight seeing in downtown. We took the "grand tour" of the Alamo and stood in the very spot where Davy Crockett and Jim Bowie fought for the independence of Texas. We strolled through the Alamo Gardens and we learned a lot in the Long Barrack Museum (well, Tim learned a lot, I learned a little bit !). It was getting really hot outside so we decided to walk over to the River Center Mall and grab an ice cold bottle of water at the Haagen Daz store. As we were sitting there, Tim realized that tomorrow was a very special day, so
Moo-Moo City !!Moo-Moo City !!Moo-Moo City !!

I think this one's just right for Moma !
he took me into Dillard's and bought me some stuff for my birthday !! As we were shopping, much to our surprise, the Coachmen dealership called and said that the parts came in overnight and the motor home would be ready later today or early in the morning. I was definitely not in a hurry to leave, but this was good news since our original plan was to get back on the road sometime tomorrow. Just as we finished up at Dillard's, Leanne called and said that Jesse had picked her up from work and they were on their way to meet us. They picked us up and we headed over to the Riverwalk where we would spend the rest of the evening walking, talking, riding and enjoying dinner together. The Riverwalk is a narrow, three mile long, portion of the San Antonio River that winds throughout downtown. The River is lined with lively sidewalks, cafes, open-air restaurants, shops and even hotels. It is a very neat place to see and all the tropical foliage everywhere is just spectacular. The four of us walked the streets for a little while and then we decided we would do the river cruise
Tim Even Joined the Fun !!Tim Even Joined the Fun !!Tim Even Joined the Fun !!

He just couldn't help himself !!
which consisted of a boat ride down the lazy river. As we were riding and listening to our tour guide, Tim and I realized that she was just repeating every single detail that Leanne and Jesse had already pointed out to us. We told them that if they ever needed a second job they should definitely consider being San Antonio tour guides !!! They did an awesome job showing us around and telling us all about San Antonio. I wish they would have been on the entire trip with us !! After our relaxing boat ride, we walked some more until we came upon the River Terrace where we decided to have dinner. The food was pretty good, the conversation was great, but I think Tim and Jesse would say that the drinks were the BEST !!! We had an awesome time just sitting around talking and catching up and enjoying the atmosphere. There was one last stop before we could head back to the house and that was the cathedral. I didn't get to see it today because we ran out of time and I really wanted to see it, so Jesse and Leanne dropped us off in front
Modeling Moo-Moo's !!Modeling Moo-Moo's !!Modeling Moo-Moo's !!

I think it'll fit her !!
of it as they circled around the block a couple of times while we checked it out. We didn't realize that there were water fountains out front but it only took Nicole a few minutes to get Tim out of his flip flops and into the water. As we were approaching the church, she came up to him, took his hand, and asked him to play in the water with her. I was thinking to myself, "This will never happen !", so you can imagine how very surprised I was when he kicked off his shoes and jumped right in ! They held hands and danced and laughed and played and I swear I think I had a little tear forming in the corner of my eye !! It was the sweetest thing I've seen on this entire trip. I took a few pictures and then we jumped in the truck with Jesse and Leanne. They took us to Leanne's car and we all headed back to the house. By the time we got back home, we were all soooooooo tired so we talked for a little bit and then we called it a night. We will be heading out
Cowboy Timothy !!Cowboy Timothy !!Cowboy Timothy !!

Moma's don't let your babies grow up to be cowboys !!
in the morning, but before we go, I want to send out a great big THANK YOU to Leanne and her wonderful husband Jesse for making our stay here in San Antonio so awesome !! I will always cherish our time here with you guys and I can't wait until you come to Atlanta for the Falcon's game !!! Take Care and Good Night !!


Day 40 - July 16th HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME !!!!


Not only is today the 40th day of our trip across America but it is also my "thirty-something" birthday !! The birthday wishes started really early this year as I was awaken by the sound of my text messages at 12:01 a.m. !! My sister-in-law Donna was the first then my daughter Amber then my niece Chrissy !! They all wanted to be the first !! I quickly fell back asleep and enjoyed one of the most peaceful nights sleep I've had in almost six weeks. Leanne's pillows are awesome, but it's not by coincidence, it seems that she and Tim both share a very unique quality, they both have pillow fetishes !! I know, Jesse and I tried to tell
You Can't Ever Have Too Much Fun !You Can't Ever Have Too Much Fun !You Can't Ever Have Too Much Fun !

Okay, Now he's gone too far !!!
them that they are weird !! Well, the motor home was ready so Leanne took Tim by the dealership on her way to work and he picked it up and brought it back to the house. Jesse leaves for work around 5:00 a.m. and Leanne around 8:00 a.m. so we all said our "good-byes" last night. I thought it was really nice of them to let me sleep in, especially on my birthday ! When Tim returned, I got up and showered as he packed everything up and soon we were ready to hit the road. Now seriously, if you had to guess, knowing Tim Strain, where do you think we would be heading to today. I mean it's the end of the trip, we are in Texas, on Interstate 10, headed towards Louisiana and Mississippi, whoops, I just gave it away !! Yes, we are going to Biloxi, after all, what kind of trip would it be if we didn't stop by The Beau Rivage !! I can definitely feel another "Candy Day" coming on !! But, before we could leave San Antonio, we had to get a Whataburger ! Everyone has told us about it, even Leanne and
Hospital in Downtown San Antonio !Hospital in Downtown San Antonio !Hospital in Downtown San Antonio !

This is the hospital where Dr. Leanne works !!
Jesse, so we just couldn't leave without at least trying it. Tim pulled over into their parking lot as I jumped (okay, I didn't jump), as I hopped out the door and ran in to grab us a Whataburger for the road. Tim and I both agreed that they are very similar to our Whoppers at Burger King. After I realized how "sloppy" the burger was, I made Tim promise me he would sit and eat his in the parking lot instead of trying to drive and eat it at the same time. This also gave us a little while to make sure the generator was working good before we got too far down the road. We eventually finished up and then we were off towards Biloxi. It was going to be a ten hour drive so we thought we would just go half way today and then finish in the morning. Well, two gas stops, two state lines, one cracked windshield and nine and a half hours later, we were in the employee parking lot of the Beau Rivage. Tim was on a mission and there was no stopping him, he drove straight through only stopping for gasoline. So
San Antonio, TexasSan Antonio, TexasSan Antonio, Texas

Me outside in the courtyard at the Alamo !
yes, I know it wasn't very glamorous, but I got to spend my birthday on the road today with my hubby, and it will definitely be one that I'll never forget. I must have gotten over 25 calls, emails and texts today, all wishing me a very Happy Birthday. I have said it a million times but I'll say it again, Tim and I are so blessed to have such awesome friends and such an incredible family !!!! I miss you guys so much and I promise you, as soon as we get home and get settled in, we will have one big "party" for all the birthdays we missed !! We grabbed our bags and took off for the check-in line. Of course the only room they had was on the 21st floor, but at least it was non-smoking and they said they would move us down to the 4th floor tomorrow if I could just get through tonight. Thanks again for all the special birthday wishes, we love you all and we'll be home soon !!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 32


Advertisement

Alamo !Alamo !
Alamo !

Tim inside the Alamo in San Antonio, Texas.
Hello There From Texas !Hello There From Texas !
Hello There From Texas !

Me posing with an historical marker near the Alamo !
Break-Time !!Break-Time !!
Break-Time !!

It was time for a short break from all the excitement of the Alamo !!
The Alamo in San Antonio !The Alamo in San Antonio !
The Alamo in San Antonio !

Me outside standing in front of the Alamo in the blazing sun !
My Little Historian !My Little Historian !
My Little Historian !

There he goes reading again !!
The Courtyard at the Alamo !The Courtyard at the Alamo !
The Courtyard at the Alamo !

Look at that HUGE plant in the background !
Hurry Up and Take My Picture !Hurry Up and Take My Picture !
Hurry Up and Take My Picture !

It was time for a bottle of water !


Tot: 0.258s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 19; qc: 69; dbt: 0.167s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb