Lunar-Jupiter Allignment over Nacogdoches County, Texas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Nacogdoches
December 9th 2021
Published: December 11th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Moon-JupiterMoon-JupiterMoon-Jupiter

by pine trees
I am no real astronomer, but on the internet I saw that over a five day period the moon would be alligned with Saturn, Jupiter. Venus, and Mercury. (No chance I could shoot Mercury.) I could only tell the planets by their relative position with the sunset and the rising moon, as per the internet information. With my simple camera I could not shoot Saturn with its dim light though it was visible to the eye.

I pointed my camera to the SSW for my pics by the pine forest. To the SW was the past sunset with Venus clearly visible. I used my zoom to get the almost half moon with Jupiter to the right. (My pic looks like a full moon, but that was due to the limits of my camera.) Venus was off the screen to the bottom right of my pics.

On my walk back to the house I set up and shot again in an oak forest. Maybe in another 600 years I can shoot this better. (LOL)

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Moon-JupiterMoon-Jupiter
Moon-Jupiter

by pine trees
Moon-JupiterMoon-Jupiter
Moon-Jupiter

by oak trees


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb