On the road again


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Houston
February 1st 1992
Published: March 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

February 1992.


My father was transferred again. This time to Houston, TX. I remember being extremely happy when I was told about, and come to think about it, I don't think I'd ever heard of Houston before, so I was probably just excited about the going to a new place.

When we arrived, we stayed at a hotel for a couple of weeks, maybe a month. I don't really remember. It was close to the famous Galleria Mall. After Kristi Yamaguchi won in the 1992 Olympics, she went to Houston for a free show at the Galleria's ice skating rink. My dad took me to see her, but I only got a glimpse of her because there were thousands of people there, so to make it up to me, my dad took me bike shopping that day. I think it worked out nicely. I started going to Merriweather School, a very, very small private school. I was finishing up 3rd grade. Then we moved to our house and all our weekends were a torture to me: furniture shopping. It can't get any more boring to an 8 year-old. My brother was 2, so as long as he had
My 9th birhtday with some of the boysMy 9th birhtday with some of the boysMy 9th birhtday with some of the boys

Please ignore the clothes. 1992 was still the 80's
a toy he was fine.

Aside from its flatness, I liked Houston. I was the first time that I remember feeling cold weather (I don't recall that in Boise, and Barranquilla is always warm), yet it had very hot summers. I loved going to the Children's Museum and IMAX. I loved the Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center, and whenever we had family visiting it was a must-see, or must-show, at least for me.

We used to have picnics at the San Jacinto State Monument Park. The Battleship TEXAS was close-by.

While living in Houston we visited San Antonio which I loved, probably for its history and we used to go fairly often to Galveston. I don't remember everything, I mean, this was 14 years ago, and when you're 8 you don't think you're going to forget.

I have a box full of pictures of Houston and thereabouts. I'll go through it and post the ones of sites and city attractions.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The AlamoThe Alamo
The Alamo

San Antonio, TX (1992)
School field-trip to a farmSchool field-trip to a farm
School field-trip to a farm

I milked a cow that day.
Yum!Yum!
Yum!

I think we were making rock-soup after some story we had just read.


Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb