Getting ready to go!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Houston
May 15th 2007
Published: May 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


My backpackMy backpackMy backpack

This is literally all I will be carrying with me for the next 2-3 months.

Untitled
Edgar Barguiarena

"We do these things not to escape life, but to prevent life from escaping us"


So here I am in my apartment, its Monday, I leave in 5 days, and I still dont think it has fully sunk in. I will be in New York City 5 days from now, London in 7 days, and Paris in 10. Thats quite the tour and I still cant believe how incredibly lucky I am to be able to do this.

For the uninitiated, this is my travel journal, welcome. I will be updating this whenever I get the chance in whatever excotic locale I happen to find an internet connection in. I may post on consecutive days or I may go a week without updating, who knows. Photo's and video will be posted whenever I update so you wont have to wait until I get back to see the goods.

In case you dont know, I have been wanting to do a trip like this since I was a kid enamored with egyptian and greek mythology. My wishes were further cemented after seeing a very specific photo taken more than 7 years ago now. This particular photo showed me just
VictoriaVictoriaVictoria

Included a photo of my niece Victoria only because it makes a strong argument that she is just about the cutest baby of all time. (also to test out the photo functionality of this site)
how open ended this world can really be and I decided right then and there that I had to be there, I just had to go. It was never a matter of "if" or "how" but just a matter of "when". The inspirational photo was that of my brother sitting on a camel with the Pyramid's of Giza (the only remaining structure of the original 7 Wonders of the World that is still standing by the way) in the background. Egypt is now one of my must see destinations along with countries in Northern Africa, the Middle East, and Europe.

My plan is that I dont have a plan. I arrive in London on a Monday, take a cursory glance at the sights, then take the chunnel under the English Channel and arrive in Paris on Wednesday. After that the trip is completely open-ended, no set itinerary. I have a vague idea of the route I want to take, but it is completely flexible and detours are almost certain to happen.

So there is the long and short of it. I will post as often as I can and not a bit more. Please leave comments (and if you are technologically challenged please let me know while I'm still in the states and I'll be glad to show you how) as I would love to hear from everyone while I'm over there. My next post will probably originate from the Big Apple where I'll go into slightly more detail of the major sights I plan to visit.

Advertisement



15th May 2007

WHOAH!
I am so happy for you and of course worried! Isn't that what I am supposed to do! I know you will have an amzing time. You always make the most and best out of things. Can't wait to read all about it!
15th May 2007

YOU ARE TRULY INSPIRING!
Wow! Edgar I never knew how passionate you were about life! This blog has really given me an insight of the kind of person you really are. I am so proud to have such an inspirational person in my life. I wish you nothing but the best and may God bless you along this journey.
15th May 2007

How so you spell Jealous! : R-O-B!
Have a good trip bro, enjoy your self and take care. As of today, we are still planning on going this friday. So I will save my official good bye and best wishes till then. But I am looking forward to the chronicles of Eddie B.
15th May 2007

Eye-opening experience!
I know you are going to have a blast over there...I'm excited for your opportunity to fulfill a dream of yours. Just have fun and experience all that you can, but be careful doing it! Update as much as you are able to, I'm looking forward to hearing all about the places you've visited:)
15th May 2007

Vamo mi hemano!
Hey Edgar! Im gonna write in spanish because english version is not aviable right know ( me da flojera escribir en ingles). Bueno mi hemano , antes que nada me da mucho gusto que me haya agregado en su lista para tener el placer de poder leer las historias que le pasaran en su gran viaje, como consejo le puedo decir una cosa, hable en espaƱol a donde llegue PLEASE DONT TALK IN ENGLISH IN PARIS!!!! ok? Bueno otro consejo, sonrie todo el tiempo, me h dado cuenta en todoslos viajes que con una sonrisa el mundo te sonrie asi que quien no quiere que le mundo le sonria no? Lleva solo tres pantalones, pero lleva un chingo de boxers y calcetas y cada momento en tu viaje hazme un favor, observa tu alrededor, escucha los sonidos del mundo, siente cada cosa que puedas tocar y cada aroma que aparesca grabalo en tu memoria, despues de todo, es lo unico con lo que te vas a quedar. Se feliz mi hemano y arriba MEXICO cabron! A y por cierto si puedes ponerle una banderita de Mexico a tu backpack el mundo te tratara mucho mejor ( todo esto lo digo por experiencia mi hermano!) Chao, saludos desde Zicatela. CEO Danny Zitla Incorporated fukin shit no way man!
15th May 2007

You Suck!
I am so jealous. I hope you get lost a lot in the most incredible places.
15th May 2007

Be careful
For some unknown reason (haha,) I feel a connection to you. Please be careful, Edgar. I know everyone is telling you that, but one more person saying it can't hurt. Eh, I know you aren't the same naive dork we both used to be. I'm sure you have multiple requests, but try to bring me back a souvenir. A simple picture will suffice. Have fun; and above all, I hope you learn everything you can about the world and yourself.
15th May 2007

Impresionado y preocupado
Hijo: La verdad que me siento muy emocionado con el viaje que vas a emprender pero tambien muy preocupado ya que el viajar solo tiene sus riesgos, sin embargo tengo confianza en ti y en Dios que todo te va a salir bien, cuidate mucho y recuerda que existen muchas personas que te quieren y te estiman, recuerda mucho a tu madre y tus hermanos, por favor en la medida que puedas reportate y estoy de acuerdo con Danny sigue su consejo.Estoy impresionado por este sitio donde te inscribiste. Te envio una bendicion y que recuerdes que te quiero mucho y aqui estare a tu disposiciĆ³n para lo que se te ofrezca.
15th May 2007

sight seeing
Hey bro, im glad your finally doing this, just remember to enjoy the sights, so look up for the northern lights, if you go to the beach, they will fail in compare to acapulco gold or mauwi wawi, take a chingo of pics and enjoy every moment of it,cuz take if from me we are all on borrowed time and we only live once. so like always bro, good times
15th May 2007

So Jealous!
Hey Punk! I hope you have an absolute blast! Knowing you, I know you will make the best of every wacky, unexpected experience you come accross. :) Be careful, and safe and all that other boring stuff but most of all have FuN!!!!!! <3
15th May 2007

que envidia de la buena primo!!
Como te dijo tu primo, no hables ingles!!! y todo el mundo te adorara por mexicano. Cuidate muchisimo!!! Recuerda que tienes una familia que te queremos muchisimo!!! Quedate lo mas que puedas, aunque sea un ano, aqui la vida solo te espera para atraparte con hipotecas y prestamos por los proximos treinta anos, and that can wait!!youre young! Sugiero que te envolucres mas con la gente de alli que con turistas
16th May 2007

good luck
ed, this site rocks! if it's a preview i can't wait to see the real thing. stay in touch and we'll keep you posted on the astros. here's what little advice i can offer from a boy who has never ventured too far from the wilds of ohio. be the first to extend a hand and make a friend. the most amazing people you will meet will be the ones you never expected. we're all tempted to hang with people just like us. but the people who expand our horizons are the ones least like us. everyone will tell you to be careful. i say run with the bulls and trust your gut. if a situation feels out of whack get out of there. your gut is the best safety tool you'll ever have. but if you're too cautious you'll never move out of your comfort zone. and the real adventures are the ones that take us beyond what's safe and comfortable. drink and enjoy, but don't party your way across the planet. you'll miss all the best parts. the sunrises, the mountain tops, the amazing sights you will tell your kids about one day. this isn't three sheets, it's ed's adventure. and karla and i wish you the best the world has to offer. we will live vicariously through your travels. be safe, be adventurous, be courageous. be the man, ed. no regrets. we're all traveling with you. love ya brotha, kc
16th May 2007

i love you big bro
so i'm really excited for you and can't wait to hear about all your traveling you will be doing once again be careful and have fun. you mean alot to me and will be waiting for you to come back home. enjoy all the sites and know that you will definitely be pissed while you are gone muah much love
21st May 2007

george of the jungle
Edgar - I believe you are in London right now probably touring Buckingham Palace, Westminister Abbey, the London Eye, or Wembley Stadium (the most expensive stadium ever built)! Take it all in and enjoy the moment. For the majority, this is a once in a lifetime trip, so have fun, enjoy yourself, and see as many places and meet as many people as you can, especially the hotties overseas (I love you babe, ha). Take care Edgar!!!
22nd May 2007

Please don't be pissed, Eddie...
Yo, 'migo, I know you're clutch at glomming wireless connections, so let's get with the next installment; I'm living vicariously here and not feeling very patient about it! :D No matter what Sharon says, don't be pissed. ;)

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb