Finally here!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 22nd 2007
Published: May 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

"When you tire of London, you tire of life"



Samuel Johnson once said that way back when but I'm not sure it still applies. Dont get me wrong, I'm loving London so far but I'm actually really looking forward to going to Paris tomorrow morning. I dont have pics to post just yet because the computers here at the hostel dont allow one to connect anything to them so the London pics will have to wait a bit. The hostel is okay, its one of the biggest in Europe and a big party place which is kind of a mixed blessing. My roommates yesterday were blokes from Canada, Seattle, and Bangladesh. The canadian guy brought a girl back to our room late last night after I had already crashed out and I woke up to him tryin to get this girl to stay in our room. I feel back asleep before I found out if he was successful or not but she wasnt there in the morning.

I got along really well with the guy from Seattle, we ended up having a few drinks at the bar located in the 1st floor of our hotel (how convenient, I know) then hit up a few pubs by Coventry Gardens. This place is ridiculously expensive! The average beer was around 3 pounds and the pubs closed at 11 which was for the best since I wasnt too keen on spending what few pounds I had left.

Yesterday during the day was pretty eventful however. The flight was great as I managed to sneak in about 3 hours of sleep and I wasnt tired the rest of the day, more excited than anything. I decided to skip the Tube system in favor of walking yesterday and I'm really glad I did despite getting lost a few times. I have probably walked more than 10 miles since I got here and other than some sore feet I'm feelin great!

My time here at the internet terminal is running low so I'll have to cut this short and update on my visit to St. Pauls Cathedral and the Tower London later. Next time you hear from me I'll be in Paris!

Advertisement



22nd May 2007

Have fun in Paris!
I had actually just emailed Claudia earlier today to see if she had heard from you. I'm glad to hear you got there safe and you're having a great time. Looking foward to reading more of your blog entries. Have fun in Paris!
22nd May 2007

Adios Blokes Hello Hairy French Chics
Noisy roommate trying to get laid + ear plugs = :) Or in your case Noisy roommate + lots of beer = :) (ZZZZZZ) Not much of a math guy but I know those 2 equations are correct. Glad your having a blast and meeting people. Get the hell out of Dodge Town(London) or you will be back in the US in 2 days. As a last alternative, if you need a place to stay call up Tony Blair. He seems to be the only Brit that likes Americans. Don't worry about us over here. Have a good time and always watch your back. RB
22nd May 2007

london
i told you it was the intl capital of the world!!!
22nd May 2007

Enjoy!
What up Ed, just read your comments and it sounds like you're having a great time. Enjoy yourself to the fullest and make sure to get some of that Euro Ass while you're out there! Take Care talk to u soon
23rd May 2007

Economics lesson
So much for the almighty dollar, huh? 2:1 and not in your favor, those beers are six bucks. Take heart, my traveling friend, London is one of the most expensive places on your agenda, and only of cursory interest. Most of what you'll see you've already seen so many times in pictures and movies they'll seem like old friends. So much awaits you across the channel, I only wish you had charted the land of my ancestors on your journey. You are there at the perfect time to see Ireland, dammit, but I understand. While in London, try not to miss the Tate and the Tower.
24th May 2007

Forner Parisian Resident
I'm so excited you will soon be seeing my Paris!!! If you are there on a Sunday please check out my old neighborhood Market! It's on 17th Arrondisment and the Metro Stop is called "Villiers". I lived above the best bakery in Europe, "Chocolate Croissants" Yummie!! You will see the true Parisian people shopping for beautiful food at the market. Anyway, love ya Ed and take lots of pics, try to make it to Versaille, it's breathtaking! Oh and there is the BEST internet cafe at the top floor of the Toyota dealership on Champps Elysee! I met Emma there which you know her and I are still great friends! Meet great friends from all over the country come in handy later when you want to visit them! Lova Ya

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb