Planes, Planes and more Planes


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Dallas
May 19th 2011
Published: May 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Set off from DFW, I think my parents are more worried about this trip than I am.

Found free Wi-Fi and updated my Facebook status and ate a sandwich.

Wait, wait, wait.

Bonus! Apparently U.S. Airways offers Wi-Fi during flight. I wonder how they can connect to the interwebs in the air though…

Nice lady sitting next to me is also headed to Italy, but Florence not Naples. Said I was perky and apparently this being my first international flight is a perfectly valid explanation for that.

Not gonna lie, the take off is my favorite part of the flight; it feels like a roller coaster. I also like looking out the window as everything gets smaller and smaller, like a train miniature. Eventually fields and forests look like a patchwork quilt with embroidered rivers. Supposedly we flew over the currently flooded Mississippi River, but I didn’t see it.

Doodle time!

The soundtrack for this flight includes crying baby, flight attendants marketing some sort of frequent flyer credit card and the rush of wind outside the plane.

I keep thinking of the Supernatural episode ‘Phantom Traveler.’ Sadly, I don’t think there is any Holy water or attractive monster hunters on this flight.

This blog is very stream of consciousness-y and also written on Word without me actually having a blog. Also, if I can find a scanner, art may be included.

Flying over a city, I like how you can tell the older neighborhoods because the trees are bigger and you can no longer see the individual lots.

The Charlotte Airport is NICE. The atrium looks like a mall and includes a touch of Southern charm with the white wooden rocking chairs. Also, more free Wi-Fi. I got to go on one of those moving runways; it was fun and made me feel like I was five again.

Wait, wait, wait.

Oops, waited too long, calling my name on the intercom.

This airplane has the fancy screens on the seat backs, currently listening my way through the CDs. They have Katy Perry, thus enabling my addiction to trashy pop music.

Over the Atlantic Ocean, hopping my way across the pond.

‘Dinner’ (its like 4 o’clock ok!) on the plane was good. Pasta, bread and a chocolate chip blondie bar, there was salad but I didn’t eat it.

Have realized that when we land, my internal clock will think it is midnight, a.k.a. about time for bed, when it is early in the morning and I will need to catch a connecting flight.

It’s night outside the plane.

The gentleman sitting next to me is very pleasant. He is a photographer circumnavigating the globe. He has a daughter who goes to UTD. He was willing to listen to me talk about my possible thesis experiment and watch the video of Nemu, my Learning & Behavior Lab rat, do his Rat Olympic Trick.

Been working my way through Good Omens again. Forgot how much I love that book. It has great footnotes.

Pulled up the window shade to find ice on the window. Actually, at the time, I didn’t have my glasses on so I was wondering why the window was sparkling. After I put my glasses on, I good a literally awe-inspiring view of the clear, dark night sky and the bright, full moon.

I’ve slept on more comfortable buses. Plane sleeping has been an unsuccessful endeavor.

Eiffel Tower: When flying over Paris, I totally saw it, from a
Breakfast in ParisBreakfast in ParisBreakfast in Paris

It was good.
distance, out an airplane window.

France: the people are friendly and helpful, but the Wi-Fi costs money. Also, it seems like everyone speaks English.

Oddly, I know I didn’t sleep on the plane much, but when I got on the ground in the morning, it feels like I had slept an entire night.

I ate a croissant; it seemed like the French thing to do.

Spoke too soon, can feel myself entering the zombie state of sleep deprivation.

Plane is late, too tired to care.

From really, really high up, France looks similar to Texas with the patchwork of farmland and clusters of buildings.

Was trying to sleep on the plane, looked up out the window and saw MOUNTIANS. I think we just flew over the Alps. I now feel sorta kinda awake again.

In two more hours, I will have been awake for 20 hours. I think I can feel my cognitive faculties malfunctioning.

Thanks to AcDec, I know that the reason everything far away looks blue-ish and fuzzy is due to the atmospheric effect.

There are two adorable French children with adorable French accents on this flight, much
Proof I have been to Paris.Proof I have been to Paris.Proof I have been to Paris.

Sleep Deprivation had not quite kicked in yet.
of an improvement over the screaming children of previous flights.

The sweet in the in flight meal was called a ‘biscuit,’ but because I read Harry Potter fanfiction, I know this really just means ‘cookie.’

I feel slightly sorry for the French couple sitting next to me. I have ignored them completely because I have been trying to sleep/don’t feel like trying to overcome a possible language barrier. I hope they do not take it personally.

Naples!

Waited for my bags. Found Ashley. She led me to the car and her dad dropped me off at their house.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb