Metroplex (I)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Dallas
March 3rd 2007
Published: November 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Texas School Book DepositoryTexas School Book DepositoryTexas School Book Depository

Rightmost window, one floor below the top.
In March, my parents come over from Prague and I flew from Milwaukee to Dallas to see my sister and her husband. This would be the first time we had all been together since my sister's wedding in December. We were all eager to see my sister's new house and take in the sights of the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex.

But... it wasn't long until the trip took an unexpected turn. Due to weather concerns in the Midwest I was not able to make it all the way to Dallas on the first try. Instead, I had to stay overnight in Memphis, only half way to my destination. Usually this kind of thing isn't too big of a deal to me, but in this case it made me pretty upset as I only had 3 days to spend with my sister and my parents and instead of being with them I would be by myself in a Memphis hotel.

So, one day late, I arrived in Dallas and was met at the airport by my sister and my parents. We wasted no time on heading off to see the sights of Dallas. It was around this time that I began to realize that Dallas doesn't really have too many sights. Instead Dallas seems to have wide freeways and endless suburbs. Anyway, we headed downtown to see what we could.

Downtown we went straight away to the JFK museum, which was actually quite interesting. The museum itself is located in the School Book Depository where Lee Harvey Oswald shot JFK. You are actually able to look through the window from where Oswald fired three shots at the Presidential motercade. Also, they have painted X's on the street to help identify exactly where the Presidential limo was positioned when each of the bullets fired from the Book Depository hit their mark.

Following our time at the JFK museum we headed off for a drink and a walk around downtown Dallas. Then we joined the masses on the freeway and drove back to the suburbs to spend the night at my sister's new house.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Out to Lunch with the FamilyOut to Lunch with the Family
Out to Lunch with the Family

New brother in law included.


Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb