A&M and Fighting Curls


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » College Station
February 28th 2008
Published: February 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

New venue; new excitement. Load in when really smoothly, again, which sort of makes me nervous. It seems overnight that the time it took me to get everything up was reduced three hours.

On the way to the Texas A & M Theater, we were trying to figure out what the letters stood for. We figured it was agriculture. Sarah suggested agriculture and mathematics (but made that up.) Agriculture and mechanics, I pondered? I won!

Our day started with the master electrician here coming to me saying there were no show files on my disc. Crap. But we quickly got in sorted without several hours of programming. Whew!

Quotes of the day: Sarah. “If we turn the monitors upside down will the music come out upside down?” Uncle Robert. “Hello, my name is Martin. When I grow up, I want to be a computer.”

For lunch, we went to this amazing burrito place. Kyle noted that he would like to do more college towns, and we asked him if he’s looking for a college girl. “I like the youthful atmosphere. ” Sarah added, “We’re around Jami all the time, how much more youth do you want?!?” Here, I am in a much different role than at home. Not the mom, but the youngest. Very much excited about everything. We made a stop at World Market, where Kyle got very excited about getting “proper English chocolate” and seeing lots of other familiar things from home. But in the end, we had to go back to work.

During sound check, I had my computer and the kids were looking at it. They sure love seeing pictures of themselves. Kyle’s console here is the Soundcraft Vi6, which he has been excited about for weeks (I’ve seen the promo video a dozen times.) But the house console is the PM5D, so he was between a rock and a hard place trying to decide which to use. In the second act, he finally found one thing about the desk he does not like.

Right before the house opened, I was wondering backstage and heard a very unhappy MultiPAR on the electrics. As quickly as I could, I brought it in to troubleshoot and asked Kyle to get on the light board. I had him turn things on and move things, and my final direction was “release, release,” which means everything goes back to normal. When all was clear, I told Kyle thank you and he could go. He said, “You’ve release released me?” Oh, an Uncle Dave joke!

After the show, a man came and asked if he could meet anyone from the Choir. Usually we don’t let them, but he was from Uganda. I went and found a few kids and asked if they wanted to chat with him. They got very excited! It was fun watching them instantly connect with someone they’ve never met.

So my hair is usually quite uncontrollable, but it seems here in the south, I spend an extra amount of my time fighting curls. Oh my goodness. Sarah’s hair has gotten quite curly as well. It’s fairly crazy. The other fun thing about the South is the diversity of the people. Where I’m from, pretty much everyone is white, or Slavic (also white).

Each day I get to get up and do this, I am really excited. Still I cannot believe how much God has blessed me. I get to do what I love everyday, and do it for Jesus, and do it with wonderful kids who teach me things everyday. About perspective, about God, about Uganda, about family, and especially about having fun! On top of that, I actually get to use my degree; imagine that!


This house had something I’ll probably never see again. 6k dimmers. Holy cow! They’re huge! I guess they were big in the 70s because you could have fewer dimmers. Enjoy!

Advertisement



29th February 2008

curly hair
preaching to the choir about curld. I still have mine. Thanks for all of your updates, it is exciting to hear from you and to see the joy you feel doing what you were called to do. Miss ya, Dace
29th February 2008

The Aggies!
When I was in college I went to College Station to visit my friend, Mim. She was a true AGGIE! I thought the campus was so cool because I was going to SFCC. I think I remember the big rival was UT Longhorns. I thought even the Taco Bell was spicier than up here. Have you noticed? The other thing I remember about Texas was everything is BIG! If you get up to Dallas/Fortworth, check out Billy-Bob's. Love ya, Mom

Tot: 0.247s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 59; dbt: 0.074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb