Preparations


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Bryan
January 8th 2011
Published: January 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

January 06-07 Bryan
On the 6th took my truck by to get checked out at local mechanic. I had been told by a shop in Georgetown that I needed to replace the idler arm and pitman arm. At a cost of $450. So wanted a second opinion. This mechanic said that my idler arm and pitman arm were fine but my steering box was leaking oil and should be replaced. I asked him how long it would last if I just refilled it when it was low. He said no telling how long, but could last for years. So guess I will just keep checking the fluid on it for now. It only needs to last till next summer anyway when I will be going to Europe.
I have been smelling a "leaking radiator" smell for a little bit and had thought my thermostat gasket was leaking so on the 7th I went over to Harmony and was going to replace it but noticed the hose was leaking at the clamp. So I replaced the wire clamp with a "C" clamps and tightened it good and tight. So hopefully that is the problem. The mechanic in Georgetown had told me I needed to replace the intake manifold gasket at a cost of $579 but I don't know if I believe that. I did tighten down one of the top bolts on it though so we will see.
In any case people have crossed oceans in leaky boats and it would be unrealistic to expect a long trip without some kind of problems. I will just deal with them when they come up.
I also need to take the truck and get the Texas State Inspection sticker replaced this week. Just one more little detail.
While in Harmony I defrosted the fridge and disconnected the water and electricity on my RV. Guess I will leave it in Harmony while I sojourn in just my truck and camper.
Hopefully if things work out I will start heading towards Corpus Christi later this week.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.453s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 81; dbt: 0.1748s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb