Santa Elena Canyon


Advertisement
Published: February 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Santa Elena CanyonSanta Elena CanyonSanta Elena Canyon

The Santa Elena Canyon Trail is difficult but worth it.
19 Feb - Santa Elena Canyon
After stopping at the store at Castolon and looking around a bit I asked the clerk there how the shortcut from Santa Elena Canyon to Maverick Junction on Old Maverick Road was. He informed me that it was a "washboard dirt road", meaning rough and it takes an hour and a half to drive the 13 miles. So I decided that after visiting the canyon I would drive back out on the Ross Maxwell Scenic Drive that I had came in on to Santa Elena Junction and then West to Terlingua. So I drove over to Santa Elena Canyon trail. When I got there I put 2 bottles of water in my backpack inside one of those plastic insulated bags you buy at Wal-Mart for a dollar or so and one outside in the mesh pocket. It was hot and I knew I would need some drinking water. Better too much than not enough. I also packed some cheese, nuts, an apple etc. I used the restroom they had there so I had an empty bladder and a well stocked backpack when I started the hike.
So I hiked down on the sand and across
Gap for canyonGap for canyonGap for canyon

Coming up on the canyon it first appears as a gap in a solid stone wall.
the canyon to begin climbing up some serious stairs. It was a long way up and I stopped to catch my breath a couple of times and enjoy the view. Then it was a long winding trail very narrow in some places into the canyon. I walked all the way on narrow ledges and between rocks to the end. I noticed all the rocks that had fallen and hoped none decided to fall while I was there.
It was a really beautiful canyon and worth the hike. I went as far as I could without swimming and then sat down on some grass on a sort of beach and enjoyed my lunch while just enjoying the quiet and awesomeness of the canyon. Then I hiked back out of the canyon taking breaks along the way to rest and enjoy the view. It was very quiet and cool in the canyon. When I got back to my truck I rested a bit and then started driving the round about way to Terlingua.




Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

No place for wimpsNo place for wimps
No place for wimps

The climb up to start down into the canyon is no place for wimps.
Narrow ledgesNarrow ledges
Narrow ledges

There are some narrow ledges in the trail. And a long way to the river.
End of the trailEnd of the trail
End of the trail

The trail ended with a small beach with some grass patches. I sat down on the grass and enjoyed my picnic lunch with bottled water and just savored the awesomeness and quiet coolness of the canyon.


26th February 2011

BEATIFUL
ALL THE PICTURES ARE SO PRETTY

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb