2012 Road Trip #6: Austin Capitol Grounds, Snake Farm, and Choke Canyon


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Austin
August 17th 2012
Published: March 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I feel the end of summer rapidly approaching! Its scaring me to death so I've decided to take a short road trip to visit Colby in Corpus Christi. This will be one of my last visits since we've decided not to move there after all. I will miss Corpus with its beaches and seafood. I will shed a tear later though.

My first stop was the Texas State Capitol Complex. I headed over to see my most favorite monument EVER: The Tejano Monument! I feel a special affinity to this monument being a first generation Texan. The monument showcases the Tejano's contributions to Texas History: Family, Ranching, the Longhorn, Vaqueros, and Exploration. I love the vaquero the most. Vaqueros taught Cowboys all there is to know! Plus, its nice seeing my people finally being visible on the state grounds.

My visit inside the capital was self-guided. I've been in here so many times with my students that I could actually give the tours myself! I like the rotunda best and seeing how high up it goes. You can read the words TEXAS at the very top.

I next headed over to the Texas State Cemetery to pay my respect to some well-known Texans including Stephen F. Austin, the father of Texas, and Barbara Jordan and Susanna Dickenson, survivor of the Alamo.

I headed south afterwards and stopped by the Snake Farm and Zoo in San Marcos/New Braunfels. I had always wanted to stop at this tourist trap and after begging every single road trip, I took matters into my own hands and did it myself. They have many snakes slithering about but my interest lay more in crocodiles. Snakes just tend to lay there while a crocodile can be evil looking when it crawls about. Their eyes look cold and heartless as well.

I ended my trip at Choke Canyon State Park. The park is divided into two sections and each section is equally deserted. It sure is pretty though. The brush lands and reservoir lakes are clean and clear. Could this be a hidden gem along the state park system?

After a half day of driving around I made my way to Corpus Christi to visit Colby. I will miss the drive on I37 or 183 to get to Corpus. I will miss Corpus itself as well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Stephen F. AustinStephen F. Austin
Stephen F. Austin

Father of Texas
Sam HoustonSam Houston
Sam Houston

Grumpy General/President of Texas


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb