Amarillo Texas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Amarillo
June 22nd 2006
Published: June 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sometime you know what kind of day you are going to have when you turn on your GPS device and it says in .8 miles take a right and then go 297 miles and take another right in Albuquerque. So we begin our day in Amarillo.

Jacquelyn got some major kite flying time last night after the best Mexican dinner we have ever eaten (Abuelos if anyone is ever in town). They have wind here like this Eastern born family doesn’t know and she had an absolute blast.

Ed worked through day but we wanted to get to do something more involved before we left the city so we traveled to Palo Duro Canyon (the largest canyon in TX). It was a beautiful day and as we traveled the 75 mile/hr speed limit on the two lane country road we got there in a snap. We had a nice picnic lunch but the experience deteriorated dramatically when I put on our bug repellent sunscreen. It proceeded to attract every biting fly in the area to Jacquelyn and I. After a few miserable minutes, we were back in the car (all a little grumpier for the experience).

Somewhere at least 100 miles into the trip but not quite 200, Ed turns to me as I was driving and says he was in the mood for a Dairy Queen. Now where we come from, that was pretty normal but I was struck by this and had Jacquelyn take pictures of what I was seeing out of my window at the time he asked this (see pictures). I had been seeing signs like next rest stop 54 miles away and the exits were easily 10’s of miles apart. I was laughing big time but the joke definitely turned on me when that creator husband of mine pointed to a sign about 5 minutes down the road and sure enough, there was ice cream store advertising. Then, about 30 minutes later, sure enough, there was a Dairy Queen. I guess in the US, ice cream transcends all boundaries.

One last note, the wind I mentioned before. Wow, you can talk about wind and rain but it is not until you are driving a 27ft vehicle with a car attached do you understand how scary a 30-40 mile gust can be (and then to have them for an hour each afternoon).



Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0764s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb