Rat killing and Twilight Zone


Advertisement
Published: May 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

May 19 Tims Ford State Park outside Winchester, Tenn.
It was nice and cool last night and I had a good night's sleep. I decided to stay here another day or two so that's the plan. So guess I will invest today in looking around the park a bit, catching up on my blog, and doing some homework on the battle of Chickamauga and Chattanooga and in general regroup and refit.
The water at this campground doesn't taste that good so I am using the water I have from Vicksburg to make my tea.
I drove into Winchester today to get on the Internet at MacDonald's. I bought a cup of coffee to justify using their internet connection. I was on for at least a couple of hours and got caught up on my blog and emails. Then I went and got something to eat, went by WalMart to get some oil for my truck and bread for me. Then headed back to Camp. Guess it was kind of a "rat killing" kind of day.
However the evening turned out like the Twilight Zone. While in the park you keep hearing the Cicadas swarming. As the evening progressed they invaded my camp, hundreds of them. They were crawling all over everything including me. I literally was having to pull one off the back of my neck or out of my hair every few seconds. And they were crawling all over everything. It reminded me of a scene out of the Twilight Zone. Having them constantly crawling up onto the back of my neck was too much for me (They are Huge). I had to retreat to my truck and keep the windows shut and try to sleep. Although it was warm in the truck I had to keep the windows shut to keep them out.
Certainly changed my mind about staying another day. I'm heading to Chattanooga tomorrow!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 10; qc: 33; dbt: 0.063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb