The Capital of Country


Advertisement
Published: June 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Arriving in Nashville after 8 hours driving, it's confirmed that driving in the states is a no brainer (why was I ever worried??), and the GPS that Chris gave me is a life saver (I thought I lost it when I was packing up and leaving Nashville, I almost had a panic attack).

I stayed in this wonderful house in the suburbs of Nashville, with 2 cheeky cats who kept trying to break into my room. The lady I was staying with was this super cool chick with the downlow it seemed of all the music places that were worth seeing. On her recommendation, after Aaron showed up, we went to the Peg Leg Porker for my first dry rub ribs. Oh. My. God. Foodgasm, in my mouth. It happened. As Bluegrass sends shivers down my spine, we rocked up to The Station Inn for some live music, Jim Lauderdale. Loved it, completely. Been there, done that, bought the CD, and would totally do it again.

Day 2 Nashville, Aaron was super brilliant and played tour guide. Country music hall of fame of course, it's confirmed, I can only take 20 minutes of country, then I'm out! Oh but after, we went to The Escape Game. The best 60mins I think I've ever paid for. Locked in a room filled with puzzles, secret doors and codes. And we escaped! With 2.47 seconds on none clock! This crystal maze fantasy moment was followed by a spur of the moment 'stop the car let's get our fortunes read!' As we drove by a psychic. She's said things that made me raise my eyebrow, things that made me think 'how did she know that?!' and things that shook me. While we had readings done completely separately we both came out saying she almost made us cry!

So to man both of us up, Aaron decided to take me shooting, complete with a hands on crash course on hand guns in the car. All aspects of gun handling were not helped by my sweaty palms and terrified countenance! At the shooting range, I proved as I thought I would, useless and not overly fond. Still had an absolute blast with the power of what I held both fascinating and terrifying me.

Having said goodbyes to the wonderful Nancy and Aaron, I packed up the car and headed to Memphis.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb