Nashville Dreamin'


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Nashville
July 29th 2011
Published: July 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Nashville where have you been all my life! We have been flagging a bit recently - I think it's the heat and knowing we only have a little time left. So Nashville couldn't have come at a better time. On the first day we hit up a bar, listened to some country music and ate a hot dog. What more could you want! Yesterday we visited the Country Hall of Fame and learnt all about Loretta Lynn, Hank Williams (there's like 3 of them) and how Saint Dolly Parton's 'Jolene' came about. We also got to check out Elvis's gold Cadillac - complete with crushed diamond and fish scale paint job. I even got to spy one of Taylor Swifts sequin/tulle awards dresses.

Today we have just got back from Elliston's soda shop - one of the oldest eating establishments in Nashville. It was here where I discovered one of the most delicious gourmet delicacies my taste buds ever did meet - a Vanilla soda. Nothing new I hear you say. Oh but it is - I don't know how they make it (Lucy thinks they put ice cream through a soda stream) but I do know that it is one of the sweetest treats I have had the pleasure of consuming on this here road trip. We also had a less pleasant lunch - Meat and Two's, which is pretty much your choice of meat and two sides. Between us we had fried okra, baked ham, crab rolls, macaroni cheese, whipped potatoes, coleslaw and turnip greens, which all sound good in theory. My child self (who freaked out over weird consistencies of food) was telling me to give it up and just turn back to the vanilla soda. I told her to quiet down because I am a grown up now but the voice was too strong and after a few decent mouthfuls I had to push my plate away. Too much like old school dinner's to me. The place was cool though - very 1930's diner.

After filling our tummy's the call for caffeination came about and we ambled over to this place that we had read about - Cafe Coco. It's billed as an old frat house style cafe, full of old photos, healthy salads and most importantly decent coffee (double shot capp nice to see you again). Luckily for us they were also holding an anime convention so we got to spy some people dressed up as cartoon characters. Probably not your typical Nashville Saturday afternoon but hella fun all the same!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb