Walking in Memphis


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Memphis
April 24th 2010
Published: April 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

AndyAndyAndy

This is Andy with his 4th beer - Only this was about 3 pints in one glass.....!
Well, after a very up and down week "would we be going, wouldn't we be going" We eventually packed Thursday night, ready to leave after work Friday!

Our driver for the airport - Katie! arrived at 5:30pm and drove us to our hotel at Heathrow, we eventually arrived, with very 'accurate' driving tutor instructions from Andy!! We checked in, threw our luggage in our rooms and headed to the bar. We then said our goodbyes to Katie had a meal and retired for the night, after setting our alarms for 3:30am.

When we woke - Luckily by a call from Liz (I set my alarm for weekdays...opps its Saturday!!) we headed to the airport, checked in and grabbed some brekkie before boarding on time, we was now well on our way to Chicago our first destination. We got off the plane fairly quickly but got stuck at passport control for an hour - a whole bloody hour! we only had one and a half hours to make our connecting flight to Memphis, we made it with 20 minutes spare.... dont ask me how!

Oh my god where do I start with this - Our connecting flight was for
Liz - CopsLiz - CopsLiz - Cops

Liz with the cops of Beale Street, we always need a picture of the cops!!
90 mins from Chicago to Memphis, took off fine, flew a good hour or so - fine - then - TURBULENCE - LOTS OF IT. Oh my stomach, I have never had a flight like it! It was all over the place, Literally the whole plane was dipping left to right continuously, Liz's face was a picture, I'm just glad I couldn't see my own it would have been a lot worse.

We approached Memphis airport, down came the landing gear - with a bang. We approached within about 50ft of touching down (and I mean that) when all of a sudden the landing was "aborted" and up came the landing gear and up we went, the toilet door flew open with a massive thud, everyone grabbed the seat in front. we then circled the airport, still swaying all over the place and came in to land from a different direction, and I must add it turned out to be one of the smoothest landing I've ever had, However I am not looking forward to Mondays flight out of here!!

So - We picked up our car from Hertz, drove the short distance to our hotel on Union
Beale StreetBeale StreetBeale Street

Actually forgot to mention, when we left people were queuing to get in to Beale street
Avenue, and got changed then headed down to the bar to relax from our flights!! We took the short walk to Beale Street, and to be honest it was alot different to what I had imagined, it was absolutely buzzing with people and live music in all the bars and restaurants, we headed to our usual spot - the Hard Rock Cafe and collected our merchandise, then chose a bar for a bite to eat. By now we were totally worn out, so had a quick wander before going back to our rooms for the day ahead tomorrow.

Ok, so I'm either really bad at blogs or the first couple of days on holiday are knackering, but yet again I'm typing away at this and all 3 are snoring their heads off........!!!!

Sorry for lack of pictures, more will follow. Thats all for today....!

Advertisement



25th April 2010

Hope you're all ok, I saw on news yesterday about tornado's so I did wonder about your flight! At least you're there now. 1 flight down is it another 2/3 to go before you're home ha ha! Dont worry house is tidy, cats fed, tray cleared, bins out and washing done. x

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0212s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb