Last semester...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » South Dakota » Spearfish
August 23rd 2012
Published: August 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

So K-State started their fall semester on Monday and I officially began my last course for my master's program on Tuesday. 😊 It was SO amazing to be able to see my grad classmates via the internet and video chat. I didn't realize I'd missed them or K-State so much until that day. BHSU moves into the res halls on Sunday and will begin a crazy busy week of Green & Gold Orientation activities.

This week, i've been frantically trying to get ready for the Downtown Block Party that i mentioned in my last blog. While I had a great few days off for vacation around the Hills w/ my family last week, I'm definitely paying for not being at work. I have put in 10-12 hour days the past 2-3 days this week and will continue to do so until next Monday is over. Yes, for anyone in higher ed reading this, I understand that this is NOT a proper work-life balance and I know that being currently exhausted is not healthy...and I understand this more than anyone due to having problems with migraines when I don't get enough sleep. I also have this problem where I feel "responsible" when I take on a task and I want it to succeed and I know what needs to be done and it has to get done by deadlines and if I don't, I feel like a failure. I'm picking up the slack for others who didn't fulfill their own responsibilities and assignments for this block party in June and July and I have taken it on since late July. So, I've got my own system worked out for publicity (which is now done), contacting businesses and am on my 3rd round of trips downtown to contact them and ask for dontations and participation and hope to finish that tomorrow morning after a meeting. I know from my amazing undergrad experience at Emporia State that a block party CAN be successful - what I see being done here is an unintended "competetion" between the campus and community fair on Sunday and my block party on Monday and also the fact its during the day (double staffing duties) and in its 2nd year and last year got rained out and moved.

In other news, I have finally gotten moved into my new home for the fall. I was supposed to have moved the week my parents were here and it would've been nice to have had some help. However, as they put new tile in the private bathroom, the toilet leaked and it was sitting in the tub when I walked in and a bucket of paint was still here. So I had to wait a few days. But, now I'm all moved in. 😊 I've learned I'm a tad hesitant to cook in the community kitchen across the hall - the oven reeks like burnt items even w/o turning it on... 😊 The woes of using an oven utilized by 18 year olds who don't clean? 😊

I'm still trying to figure out my responsibilities and workload for the fall semester. I've been asked to co-teach 2 courses - a university experience course and a study skills course....to co-facilitate an Emerging Leaders workshop for freshmen for a month....to work w/ student orgs and student senate....and to facilitate student org development workshops...and help the VP for Student Life on various projects and as she co-chairs the NASPA IV-W Conference. Along with taking my last course, studying for comps, and job-searching.....but a wonderful (and much needed) chat w/ my professor today was exactly what I needed. Perhaps with a lightened work load I may have more time to find that work-life balance this fall...study for comps...JOB SEARCH...and come home for a week in October. I plan on coming home for K-SAC and for ESU's Homecoming - no way am I missing the first ASG reunion!

Thank you all for your occasional notes on here and the emails, too, they do help to keep me going!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb