Huntington Beach, SC


Advertisement
Published: March 27th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


great white egretgreat white egretgreat white egret

note the extra feathers at the bend in the wing
Huntington Beach State Park



Two days at a lake in the rain was enough so I decided if it was going to rain I'd rather be at the ocean. My friend Kat told me about a beautiful campground on the beach near Myrtle Beach and lucky me, they had room. I got all packed up and left about 11 for the 2 hr drive. I took the back roads, Neil Diamond calls it the Blue Highway, and 2 1/2 hrs later we were pulling into the park.



My site was nice, near the bathroom and path to the beach, and level, with some breathing room from neighbors. The weather was overcast with a 20mph wind from the north, so it was brisk. I quickly hooked up the electric and took Oscar to see the beach. He hasn't been this excited to see anything for years. He was running around and jumping like a puppy, even ran into the water although I think it was not intentional. We walked up the beach a ways then went back to camp.



I got settled in, made a late lunch and decided to see the nature center where they have a scope focused on an active eagles nest. It was after hours so I walked out onto their observation platform which ended up going half-way across the marsh. It was low tide so the water birds were somewhere else but it exposed the oyster beds that the park is trying hard to establish. Picture. I did see the eagle's nest but it was very far away for any detail. Picture. There were a few pelicans about so their pictures got captured too. I had a bald eagle fly-by then I saw an osprey catch 2 fish at once. Never saw that happen before, quite a feat. He did drop one but got a good grip on the other. It was an exciting day at the marsh.



When I got back to camp, I fed Oscar then found a CVS nearby, I needed a precription filled. I ordered it over the phone so it would be ready when I got there, then the clerk recommended a good pizza place for me, his girl friend worked there. The place was easy to find and in no time I was on my way home with really good pizza. For some reason there is no good pizza in FL and I've been hungry for it.



After my delicious meal I settled in to watch Dancing with the Stars and before I knew it, it was 10:30 pm. I had fallen asleep and missed the show. Guess it was time for bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

one female, 2 male anhinga one female, 2 male anhinga
one female, 2 male anhinga

These are water birds that swim underwater to catch fish, then need to dry their wings
osprey caught 2 fishosprey caught 2 fish
osprey caught 2 fish

never saw this before catching 2 at once, he dropped one


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb