Northeast Trip - Allegheny National Forest


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania
August 3rd 2013
Published: September 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

More photos at: Picasa



The combination of sleeping in and traveling east led to a late start this morning, but I was still able to get to the Allegheny NF info center (in Marienville, PA) by early afternoon. After talking to the ranger about which trails were good day hikes, I headed to the Beaver Meadows trails for a quick 3.5 mile hike around Beaver Meadows Lake. It was a nice place to hike, though I only took a few pictures. Sadly, I didn't think to take a picture of the armpit high sea of ferns I had to wade through at one point along the trail. I didn't see many hikers on this trail, but I did see some people going out to pick blueberries in the blueberry patch that is about 1/2 mile up trail from the parking lot. After I was done hiking, I headed to the Hearts Content Recreation Area to camp near the trail I'm planning to do tomorrow in the Hickory Creek Wilderness.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb