The power of purple


Advertisement
Published: April 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

hello!
Well I just got back from the Relay For Life in the pavillion on campus. The relay for life is a fundraiser for all kinds of cancer. They go to different locations and fundraise. People can camp out in the pavillion starting at 6p.m until 12pm the next day. I joined a team with a people in one of my classes. As I walked in there, you could see all the people walking around the track, or playing twister or playing basketball. Everyone was having fun and raising money to help a great cause. It was not until in class on wednesday that I realized how industry has highly affected cancer and the increasing rate in people with cancer. You always hear of someone having cancer that you know. These days, anything can cause cancer, I was just watching the news the other day when they said chicken or steak on the grill can cause cancer because of the way it is cooked. I came up with the comment, "what doesnt cause cancer these days". I then thought about it more after class that ever since industrialization, that with all the pollutants, the chemicals being tossed around is one of the major killers. Yea, people experienced cancer before the peak of industry but today it is unbelievable all the cancer causing agents out there in the world.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb