Lancaster, Pennsylvania


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania » Lancaster
August 14th 2008
Published: August 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Amish village tour guideAmish village tour guideAmish village tour guide

HE showed us around the house.
Yesterday I went for a motorcycle ride on some of the local roads. This is probably one of the nicest areas I have seen since I left home. The scenery is green and lush, and the terrain is rolling hills. But from what I hear the local people are not very nice. I drove through a lot of farm land, and even saw a few Amish horse and buggies. I had never seen one in action, so that was cool. The one thing that stands out to me, and I didn’t have my camera with me to capture this humorous sight, was an Amish guy being pulled on his small wagon behind a horse. But the part that is funny is that behind the guy’s wagon was a gas-powered lawn mover! It just amazes me, I am wondering what is the reasoning behind that one.

Last night Erica made us another wonderful and delicious dinner! It has been really nice being able to see Kyle and Erica again, and I am sure it will be a sad time when I have to leave. I even have my own bedroom in their new house, and I feel like I can relax
The kitchenThe kitchenThe kitchen

The Amish kitchen
here and feel right at home. Later in the evening we went into town to the mall, and then we went and visited a local coffee shop in Lancaster.

Today I went with Stephanie Kautz on a tour of the Lancaster area and around the Amish communities. We didn’t have a chance to go to Intercourse, PA or Blue Ball, PA, but I had a great time. We went to the Amish Village which is a small farm that is setup just like an Amish farm would be. They give guided tours, and then give you free reign to walk around. It was very informative, and I learned a lot more about the Amish than I knew before! After that we went to meet Erica for lunch at a local pizza place, which had awesome pizza.

After Erica left for work, Stephanie and I headed to the nearby town to ride in an Amish buggy. It was way too cool! The Amish guy that was driving told us we could ask him anything, but I still felt like I couldn’t do that. He was a nice old guy, but I am sure he gets sick of seeing so
Amish buggyAmish buggyAmish buggy

I think I look so good in this thing that maybe I should buy one...
many tourists around staring at them. But it was a cool experience, and the $10 well spent!

Tonight we’re going out to Chili’s for dinner, and in the morning I’m heading to Harrisonburg. We’re having a BBQ there tomorrow night, and then Saturday morning I head back up to Lancaster again. We’re getting together at Kyle and Erica’s for breakfast. We’re going to a wedding later that day, then we either head to Harrisonburg that night or spend the night at Kyle and Erica’s. It all sounds complicated, I know. I have it down though. I’ll be in Harrisonburg for at least a few days, maybe even up to 5 or 6 days, I haven’t decided yet. Nonetheless I will have time to catch up and see people again. Anyway, I’m out for now…



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Another buggyAnother buggy
Another buggy

Stephanie and I, in a buggy sitting at the Amish village
The buggy rideThe buggy ride
The buggy ride

That's Mel, our Amish buggy driver.
Buggy ride part 2Buggy ride part 2
Buggy ride part 2

Stephanie and I again
The Amish vacuum cleanerThe Amish vacuum cleaner
The Amish vacuum cleaner

No joke, they beat the rugs with this.
Amish clothes ironAmish clothes iron
Amish clothes iron

It is gas powered.
Amish washing machineAmish washing machine
Amish washing machine

Gas powered washing machine.
Loud bugsLoud bugs
Loud bugs

These bugs are HUGE!
Skyline DriveSkyline Drive
Skyline Drive

Pretty nice views, though the speed limit of 35mph is a little slow for my liking.


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb