Harrisonburg, Virginia


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Harrisonburg
August 17th 2008
Published: August 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The first night I arrived in Harrisonburg we had a BBQ at Rachel’s house. It was a Hesston alumni gathering including Jill Sweirs, Ben Baker, Chad Ahlstrum, Katie Ahlstrum, Kayla, Rachel, Aaron Nussbaum, and myself. It was a good time seeing everyone again, but toward the end of the night I was really fighting just to stay awake.

Yesterday we went to Aaron Leichty’s wedding in PA, and it was great to see him again! I talked to him while I was there, and he invited me to spend a night with them on my way through. I believe that is what I will do toward the middle of the week. Yesterday morning we had lunch at Kyle and Erica’s, and it was the Hesston crew again. It was myself, Kayla Miller, Rachel Jaberg, Stephanie Kautz, and Kyle and Erica. They barbecued, and we just sat around to talk for a while. We also played bocce ball (I don't think I spelled that right) which was pretty fun too. At the wedding we saw some other Hesston folks, and was a good time as usual. After the wedding we headed back to Kyle and Erica’s house again to watch some
The crewThe crewThe crew

Ben, Jill, Rach, Chad, and Katie
of the Olympics, then headed home around 11:30pm. We didn’t arrive in Harrisonburg until about 3am, and I can’t say it was the most fun drive home, but that was about the only option we had in order to make it back to town in time.

This morning I was able to sleep in as long as I wanted, so that lasted until about 11am. Kayla came over after church and we had leftovers together. This afternoon we played some sand volleyball over at EMU, which was amazing! It really made me miss playing ball, and from what people were saying I was one of the hardest hitters to ever play with them. But it was a really fun time; it was mostly EMU alumni and friends who play there every week. And it was cool that I ran into Alec Burky while I was there, I am guessing he lives in one of the dorms right by the sand volleyball courts. And tonight we went out to dinner with Jolene Kratz, Ben Alison, Kayla, and Ben’s girlfriend Sara. It had been a long time since I had seen Ben, so that was pretty fun. Afterward we brought a
The BBQThe BBQThe BBQ

Stephanie, Rachel, myself, Kayla, Kyle, and Erica
Frosty to Rachel while she was at work. I don’t think I had ever been in an emergency room before, so that was a new experience for me. Rachel is a nurse in the ER, which I think is pretty awesome!

Tomorrow the plan is to go back up to Skyline Drive with Kayla and do some hiking and sightseeing. Later in the evening I’m going to a going-away picnic for Aaron Nussbaum. So far my time in Harrisonburg has been great! But I am looking forward to being on the road again, as usual. I still have a lot I need to do and a lot of people to see before I return home. Well I am exhausted from another day of playing hard, time to sleep. Until next time…


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Garbage canGarbage can
Garbage can

Proof that I was in Hershey, PA.
The weddingThe wedding
The wedding

Some old-timer Hesston folks catching up.
VballVball
Vball

Throwin' it down. Kayla gets the credit for this photo, nice one!


19th August 2008

Mike, I think you have gone WAAAAAAAY over the fun limit! Looks like it was just what you needed.
20th August 2008

oh, man... good group of folks right there. I better see all of 'em at our 5 year reunion/ Hesston's centennial anniversary! Late September '09. Oh yeah! Be looking for a facebook group! me jealous of your trip, lucky dog.

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0992s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb