Needham, Massachusetts


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston
August 13th 2008
Published: August 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Let’s see, what has happened the last few days…

I think Aug 10 and 11 were two of the most miserable riding days yet. I got rained on pretty good both days, and I knew from the start of my trip that my gloves and boots are not waterproof. And since both are leather, they soak up the water pretty well. I didn’t really want to pack another set of waterproof gloves and boots since they take up quite a bit of room, so basically I just have to deal with it as it comes. On Aug 10 I stopped for about an hour to let the storm blow over. I saw it coming from a distance, and I knew it was going to be ugly. I think the thing that scared me most was while I was riding and I would see the lightening bolts striking in the distance. I stopped at a gas station and asked the guy working if I could hang out for a while, and he said no problem. While I was waiting outside during the storm, it rained so hard that water was blowing in and getting me wet. There was also about 2
The storm is comingThe storm is comingThe storm is coming

Clouds of darkness
inches of water flowing through the 2 islands in the gas station. I finally just decided to be brave and go the rest of the way to the Bishop’s, and got rained up pretty good for most of the way.

The next morning I left Boston and headed to Secaucus, NJ where I would be staying with some more MYW folks. And what looked like nice twisties on the map ended up not being that great. It was very nice as far as scenery, but not too many roads that I consider curvy. Secaucus is just a few miles west of New York City, and I have to admit I didn’t like the big town feel too much. Since I couldn’t use my GPS in the rain, I stopped in the area which I thought was close to where I needed to turn. I found out that I had gone a little too far, and I happened to be stopped in Bronx. Talk about feeling out of place!

I left Secaucus and headed south to some beaches in New Jersey. I figured I better at least see the ocean if I am going to come all the way
The oceanThe oceanThe ocean

I had to at least see the ocean if I was going to come this far across the country
across the country. I saw some nice views of the ocean while I was there. It is definitely a different feel than the beaches in Oregon, mainly because you don’t have the coastal range. I was getting ready to head down to the sandy beach to go and feel the water, and found out you have to pay $5 to use the beach! I reasoned with myself and said I would never pay to go on a stinkin’ beach! So I had to settle with some pictures on the walkway above the beach. It was still a good experience though.

I was running behind schedule heading to Lancaster, PA, so I had to drive pretty much straight through the whole way from the beach. I made it in time for dinner at Kyle and Erica’s place, and Emily Hershberger and Monica Kreider also joined us. We enjoyed dinner outside, and I think it was a good time for all of us. Emily is leaving for Uganda for about a year, and it worked out great because the night I arrived was the only night that worked for her to hang out before she leaves. Stephanie Kautz also joined us after dinner.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb