Sunday in the Garden


Advertisement
Published: August 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Pink Water LillyPink Water LillyPink Water Lilly

The sunlight is reflecting in a star-like pattern along the edge of the floating leaf.
More images from a brief visit to Longwood. The weather finally allowed for time outdoors - the past few weeks have been miserably hot and humid. Today was a clear, blue-sky day, with low humidity and a cool breeze. So there I was with hundreds of other garden enthusiasts taking in the sights at Longwood. Oh joy - Is it very selfish to want these tourists to pack up their annoying spawn and leave??


A few days ago, I purchased a 1 gig SD card for the my Nikon Coolpix. I've been dealing with a 128mb SD card that I bought along with the digital camera - talk about applying conservative values! I brought my Canon SLR along only to find out I left the film at home and the batteries were drained. Grrr!


I took most of my shots at the outdoor watergarden. A patio within the confines of the Conservatory that displays various types of water-lillys from April to October. I did find out that the pond water is treated with a black dye to 1. prevent algae from growing. 2. provide a dark backround in which the colorfull water lilly blooms will contrast dramatically.
Water LillyWater LillyWater Lilly

The sunlight is reflecting in a star-like pattern along the edge of the floating leaf.
Hmm..think this might work with a container water garden?

Viewing a slideshow of the pictures, there are instances where the sunlight reflecting off the ponds looks like stars. An interesting effect that I have no clue as to how to duplicate - guess that would make me a poor reuters photojournalist.

Oh yes, of course the butterflies were out in force today...


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Giant Lilly PadsGiant Lilly Pads
Giant Lilly Pads

Tempted to throw one of the little tykes who was throwing rocks into the pond onto this lilly pad...
A group of Water LilliesA group of Water Lillies
A group of Water Lillies

Reminds me of the stock photography that comes bundled with XP.
Leaf ReflectionsLeaf Reflections
Leaf Reflections

Love how the water reflects the sky.
Leaf DetailLeaf Detail
Leaf Detail

The markins on this leaf look as thought they were carefully painted on to this plant. Ya know...I wouldn't put it past the staff of Longwood to do just that :)
B-FlyB-Fly
B-Fly

No trip is complete with out the requisite butterfly display...
B-FlyB-Fly
B-Fly

No trip is complete with out the requisite butterfly display...
B-FlyB-Fly
B-Fly

No trip is complete with out the requisite butterfly display...


Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 87; dbt: 0.0851s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb