Holocaust


Advertisement
Published: July 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I remember learning about the holocaust in high school. I graduated from high school longer ago then I would like to admit. This week’s reading was difficult. The Account of Holocaust Mass Shooting, 1942 by: Hermann Friedrich Graebe was very hard to read. What is so different this time around is how much closer it was in years. When I was young 1942 seemed so long ago. It was another life time if you will. It is so hard to fathom that this account of part of the Holocaust was only 54 years ago. My parents were alive while this was going on. Some people who were in these horrid camps and survived are still alive today. Being older my self makes it seem so much closer then it did so many years ago. Hermann writes the number of people killed daily was about 1500. I grew up in a small town. My high school graduating class was only 100 students. 1500 people are more people then what lived in my entire town. That amount of people being killed and it is only from one day. It is just awful.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb