Oregon - Portland and Medford


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
September 6th 2007
Published: February 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Oregon - Portland and Medford


9-6-07
I got up and worked on the computer for awhile. Lana called down to me and said she would be ready to play tennis soon as we discussed the prior night. I got ready and we headed out. Lana had recently got some tennis rackets and was wanting to try them out. We had a great time hitting the ball back and forth without being too serious. Just trying to get a little bit of a workout in. A friend of Lana’s stopped by and we talked to her as we played. She too was an independently employed and I jokingly ask them if everyone around here is independently wealthy. These two ladies are really underspoken and very modest with regards to talking about their travels. Lana has been all over as has her friend. Her friend just got back from the Congo one of the more dangerous places in the world these days. She was doing some work to help the people there.

After about an hour of tennis we called it a match and headed back. I got cleaned up and took my bike to downtown Portland. On my way down town I saw a place where they were allowing you to drive smart cars. I decided to stop and try one out. They are 3 cylinder engines and I had a hard time pressing on the accelerator and not the brake at the same time as my feet or two big. I was most surprised by how far you had to push down the accelerator before it would go. You really had to get the engine revved up before it would go. It got 40 mpg driving around town and highway combined on average. The guys there said they have been getting 50 on the highway. I really think the cars would be great if you lived in a big city but they are not to practical for me since I am a pretty big man and because I like to haul things like tillers and rock and mulch etc.

After stopping there I continued on to Lincoln High School where Matt Groening, the Simpson’s founder, went to High School and then went to the Goose Hollow Inn. This is a tavern that the former mayor of Portland Bud Clark owns. It is a very interesting story, but the mayor is a real character. I sat there and had a couple beers and enjoyed talking to the bartender who enjoyed talking himself. He too was well traveled. The mayor’s claim to fame is his poster that says expose yourself to art and it is a picture of him flashing a piece of art. It is quite funny. After about 1.5 hours at the tavern talking about the mayor, Portland Politics and Portland beer I headed back towards Lana’s. I rode along the waterfront where they have a nice park and then headed back to Lana’s as it was around 5. One of her employees was there and they were still working. Lana said the lady that we met at the park while playing tennis invited us to a Cambodian restaurant. A guy who is her roommate was also going to join us.

At the restaurant we got our food that we were supposed to eat with our fingers. What you do is take the bread and use that to pick up the other food so each bite was a mini sandwich. It was ok, but I thought they should let you use a fork if you so desired. From there the guy, Lana and
Jim And Rosey Keeton Jim And Rosey Keeton Jim And Rosey Keeton

I surfed with these amazing folks. Thanks guys!
I went downtown as there was some kind of art thing going on. They do this the first Thursday of every month. I saw a replication of the Pieta. I had seen the actual one in St. Peter’s Basilica. For some reason that seems really cool when I see something on tv or artwork that I have seen in person. We had a good time looking around and things were really busy and after awhile we decided to head somewhere to get a drink. Everything was so nutty downtown that we decided to go closer to Lana’s house to have a beer. I was really tired and after a couple drinks we headed back to Lana’s and called it a night. Another busy day. Good night from Portland!

9-7-07
I had a good time in Portland but was ready to move on. When I am traveling and feel like I have seen an area pretty thoroughly I do not like to linger. If I stayed longer in Portland I would have felt like I was being a sloucher. I really did enjoy my stay, but I must be moving on as goes the song. I was actually quite excited as I was going back to Jim and Rosy’s, friends of the family that I stayed with the last time I was in this area. They are some of the nicest people in the world. I arrived at there place in the late afternoon and spent the day talking to them. We barbecued and talked most of the evening. We spent a lot of time planning the rest of my trip. Jim and Rosy know the southwest of the US like the back of their hand. I ended up extending my tavels another week as a result. I really enjoyed the time I spent with them and thought man another day here working on the journal would be very nice so I ask and I received. They said sure. Maybe I should not have asked as they were planning for a trip to Glacier soon. I hope they did not mind. We stayed up pretty late and then around midnight I went to bed. Goodnight from Medford, Oregon.

9-8-07
I got up and had some breakfast with the Keetons and then headed out to get my oil changed. It had been in storage a long time and the miles indicated it was time for a oil change as well. The attendant ask me if I wanted my air filter changed and showed it to me. I told him I will be driving through Death Valley and will be in other desert like areas soon so told him I will wait until that is behind me before I change it. They gave me a free car wash with my $32 oil change, which I thought was quite expensive, but Jim said most of the places are like that around here.

When I got back to Jim and Rosey’s I did some computer work and had lunch with them. Jim was working on their water sprinkler system outside and was quite involved into that task. Jim and Rosey really stayed busy. Rosey ask me if I wanted to go swimming and I did. After the swim I sat in the whirlpool for awhile, which is right adjacent to the pool. After that we went out to a Mexican restaurant that was probably a ½ hour drive from their house. These two really like to drive. The food was excellent there and Jim took me into the mountains to see an area where a fire had swept through the mountains. Jim worked for the BLM, which oversees the federal grounds. Jim said after the fire sometimes they harvest a few of the trees. They normally harvest the trees near the roads immediately, but an environmental group sued them to not cut the trees because that results in erosion and that goes into streams hurting the salmons habitat. I believe environmental groups are good because they keep big money in check. People do not care about the environment if they can make more money raping it, but I think cutting the trees along the roadsides should have been allowed. Of course all the private landowners in the area clearcut their areas as that could not be stopped by environmental groups only the public land.

We went to their house and hung out there the rest of the evening. I feel like I am at home with Jim and Rosey and I just hope I do not take advantage of them in some way since I feel so at home. I do know though I enjoy it when people come from far away and I get to visit them. Hopefully they get a similar feeling.

Good night again from Medford, Oregon. Tomorrow I am back on the road. I am headed to the beautiful Redwoods.

9-9-07
I got up and messed around at the Keeton’s until around 11:00 and then headed out. I got to meet there daughter who recently married and is now having a baby. Rosey and Sarah were considering driving 4 hours to a strip mall to go shopping and then driving 4 hours back. That is crazy. Only person I know that does similar things is Lonn. I would be inclined to just order things online and let someone else do the driving.

Back on the road again. I was taking the scenic drive down interstate 199. I got to the check point where you enter California and they ask if I bought any fruit. In Grants Pass I did buy some and I was afraid they were going to make me hand it over. I was considering telling them I had none, but my policy has always been to tell the truth. I told them I just bought some in the supermarket and they said ok and I left. Not sure at what point
Bud Clarke former Mayor of PortlandBud Clarke former Mayor of PortlandBud Clarke former Mayor of Portland

Bud is pictured here while he was the mayor. Quite the character.
they do not allow you to bring the fruit into the state.

The drive down 199 is classic and I enjoyed it this time as much as last time although this time there was a lot less water in the stream. Last time in early March this stream was screaming. I stopped in a couple places and took pictures and one place stopped and used the internet for a couple hours. I made it to Jebadiah Smith campground around 5 and got a camping spot. This place is quite popular and has Giant Redwoods nearby. I took a short hike and met a retired couple from Canada. The husband had a heart attack at 48 and his wife said that was the best thing that ever happened to them as they have a whole new perspective on life now. I met them in the Redwoods grove across the stream from the campsite and we walked back together and I talked to them for a long time at their campsite and we took a picture. They are traveling in a van and they sleep in the back of that. I like their setup.

We said our goodbyes and I headed back to my truck to get some supper fixed. I typed for awhile and called it a night. I had a tree near me that was probably 10 ft. in diameter. These redwood trees are amazing and spiritual in a way as well. There is nothing like them in the whole world. I read once that they use to grow in China, but now the ones in California are the only ones in the world this old. Goodnight from under the canopy of Giant Redwood trees in Northwestern California. I like this state!



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Bud Clarke's barBud Clarke's bar
Bud Clarke's bar

I had a couple here.
A Vietnamese MealA Vietnamese Meal
A Vietnamese Meal

This food is eaten with your hands. No silverware aloud. You make little sandwhiches with the small pieces of bread under the food.
Look at the tread on these TiresLook at the tread on these Tires
Look at the tread on these Tires

They were going to ride in sand dunes.
My Couchsurfing RoomMy Couchsurfing Room
My Couchsurfing Room

I really liked the dolls. Did I say I liked dolls?


3rd February 2008

Oregon Wierdos.
Hey Buddy, Only wierdos go to Oregon don'tcha know. We'll, err, actually that's where we are from. Born in Grants Pass and raised in a hoe dunk town not far from there. Leave it to medford to have a couch surfing room filled with dolls. Authentic medford oregon experience :) Actually me brother lives there so I'll have to chide him about not having any doll rooms. Hope your travels are going well. Great Blog!.. Peace, Scott/clover

Tot: 0.505s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 23; qc: 95; dbt: 0.1065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb