Oklahoma is OK


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oklahoma » Sallisaw
April 23rd 2010
Published: April 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Sallisaw, OK. Another uneventful but long driving day (455 miles). When I was doing my flight planning last night I realized there was another convenient campground about 30 miles past Fort Smith, AR. Knowing there could be severe weather in Arkansas today and Saturday I decided to shoot for the extra mileage.

I got an early start - after spending a few minutes talking with the Allegro RED folks parked next to me - and made it to my destination by 5 pm Tulsa time (ok I know I’m south of Tulsa but I AM in Oklahoma and Don Williams did a great song about living on Tulsa time!)

I managed to miss any severe weather. Just northwest of Little Rock the sky was getting very dark. A quick check of my weather radio told me there was a severe thunderstorm up ahead on I-40. So I found a place to pull off and had lunch in the RV while the storm moved northeast and away from me. I did have some rain from Russellville, AR to just into Oklahoma, but it cleared up by the time I arrived at the KOA. Sure glad I missed any of the severe storms, possible hail and tornadoes they were/are predicting for areas east of here.

There’s a slight chance of showers in the morning, but other than a little wind it should be another day of smooth sailing.

Saturday will be a nice and easy day. My plan is to drive only 260 miles and take in at least one Route 66 museum (possibly two if time permits). I figure since one main event of this trip is a Route 66 fun run next weekend in Arizona, why not spend a little time on Route 66 in Oklahoma, too.

Since it was yet another monotonous day of interstate driving (Arkansas has horrible road conditions - so many potholes, bumps, etc. that it jarred one of my mirrors lose and I had to readjust and retighten at a rest area), I don’t have any photos to share tonight.

But don’t despair, I figure there will be a few opportunities in the coming days and lots in Vegas, on the Route 66 fun run and when I get to the National Parks in southern Utah.

Time to call it a night. I managed to pull out a chair and relax outside after dinner and got to visit with some of my neighbors.

Thanks for following along with us.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.327s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 16; qc: 78; dbt: 0.2443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb