NAPC


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio » Cincinnati
June 23rd 2009
Published: June 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I do not know how it is possible. I just cannot travel without any kind of trouble, at least not with airplanes. The most annoying travel was of course the holiday me and Guri spent in Peru around this new-year. Nothing came out the way we wanted to, and I ended up in a hospital. It was memorable though, but not the best memory in my life I might say.
This time the flight was delayed, and I was stuck in Philly until 11pm. I arrived in Cincinnati at 2am, and finally checked into my room after some walking around on the university area until I finally found the house in which I’m going to spend the whole week. Not very nice room, but the roommate is a very nice Korean paleontologist, which whom I have shared paleontological experiences.
The next two days were in the field, in steaming hot weather. The Cincinnatian geology is fascinating. There are not many places in the world one can find very poorly lithified sediments from the Ordovician, with brachiopods lying in the clay, and many are intact, after 450 million years. They look like they would open if I steamed them in white wine. Some of these brachiopods are closed, and some of them are opened, leaving the internal structures visible, perfectly preserved. This must be the perfect burial. I guess not many humans will be found after 450 million years, ready to tell the future scientists about life in the Holocene.
The nearest future now will consist of paleontological presentations, with my own talk at Friday. I hope I will remember everything I planned to say, also with the paleontological world watching. Excited, and looking forward to holiday, Guri, and road trip.
Life is good.


La elva leve!
Hilsen Lars

Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb