Week 1 Continued


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio » Canton
June 13th 2010
Published: June 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Weds 9th June.

Woke up to thunder and it was chucking it down! So I did all my coaching indoors with the lil kids. In the afternoon, me and my family and some of the other coaches all went to the Pro American Football Hall of Fame. It was really good and made me want to go and watch a live game!!!! My family are Pitsburg steelers fans - so I am now! The rain had finally stopped for my evening session so that sesh went went. Then afterwards, Patty (my host mother) took me to a Vegan restaurant! It was owned my Chrissie Hynde, the guitarist from the Pretenders. The food was so good! It was so good to have so much choice (everything was vegan on the menu!) I liked going there!

Thurs 10th June.

I did the usual coaching in the morning, we did dress the coach, so I wore some lovely clothes. Had a ginger scottish hat on at one point, with some aladdin pants and a crown etc. In the afternoon we went to a market (mainly to spy on some Armish people-but there weren't many there). Each week we have a presentation on the Friday and give each child an evaluation sheet (which folds out into a poster of Rooney) so I had to fill in one each for every kid (whilst sunbathing..it's a hard life). Then I coached my evening session which went well, and then afterwards me and my family went to a drive in Movie theatre which was so cool! It's outside obviously. We watched a kiddy film called Marmaduke which was good but I fell asleep half way through!

Fri 11th June.

Did the usual coaching in the morning which went well, and did the mini presentations for the kids at the end. One family gave me some apples as a present (as a joke from when the sniffer dog sniffed me out at the airport for my apple!). Friday is the best day as everyone paints their faces as flags of countries, dyes their hair diff colours, etc. I had england flags on my cheeks! Did the closing ceremony with the other coaches then signed autographs for all the kids and had photos taken - even got interviewed for the local paper (Which i got a copy of ....) Went to the pool again in the afternoon which was nice and hot. Coached again in evening which was fun, signed more autographs and more photographs with the kids. Afterwards, quickly got ready to go out and went for a meal at an Italian with all the other coaches and their host families (adults only). We went to a local bar afterwards and everyone was pretty drunk! Had my first experience of the USA shots, I got a jager and it was massive!! It was a gooooood night!

Sat 12th June.

Woke up feeling pretty rough! (no suprise there!) I met my familie's grandparents and went to watch the two boys (JP and MJ) play soccer for their local teams. It was also Meighan's 10th birthday today so we went to the pool for her party. We watched the England game v USA with the yanks! Then we went home and continued the party there with a hula theme. Patty made me vegan cupcakes which were delicious!! At night, me, Patty and Mike all relaxed and watched a film (Leap year). When I went to bed it was thunder and lightening really bad - quite scary!!!

Sunday 13th June.

Got up early as I needed to pack to move on to my next place. Me and the kids took their dog Buddy for a walk round the estate. The girls also painted my finger nails as they really wanted to do that! The Hinnebusch's got me lots of presents and we exchanged gifts as we said goodbye! I then set off to Maysville, Kentucky with Coach Tom and Coach Kev. I drove most of the way! I then met some of the other coaches, Coach Tom junior and Coach Pedro (brazillian!) and I met my new family - the Cottams! there is Matt (dad), Amy (mum), Danielle (14), Kaitlyn and Hayley (10 - identical twins!) and Emily (10) who is their cousin - very nice family 😊 We all went out for tea at an italian restaurant and then afterwards me and my fmily went shopping for vegan food for the week!

So hopefully next week will be as good as my first!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb