First week in the US of A!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio » Canton
June 8th 2010
Published: June 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

8th June 2010!

I'm staying with a lovely family in Canton this week - mum, dad, two sons and two daughters, and a rat-terrier dog! Their house is on a lovely cul-de-sac and it is massive!

When I arrived on Saturday, all the soccer coaches stayed in a hotel in Cincinnati. A few of us went out that night to a bar in the middle of town, which was a good night to get to know everyone again. Sunday morning we set off driving to our destinations - mine and 4 others travelling to Canton, 4/5 hours away. I was handed the keys to drive so I was very nervous but driving was fine!! I swapped with another coach who also drove half the way. Then we met our families at the fields where camp takes place. That night we all went to a picnic hosted by one of the host families, so met all the families, all the kids, and had a big big spread of food and drink!

Monday morning was first day of camp. I'm on a 7 man camp this week which means there are 7 coaches on it including myself, which is quite a big camp. From 9-10.30am I had 5 3-4 year olds, who were harder to control/entertain than I thought! Then at 11am -12pm I had two 3year olds. Then I went back to my host families house and just relaxed with them, until I returned to camp 5-8pm to coach 7-10year olds, which was a lot more successful! Me and my host mother then went to Walmart and I got my very own Cell Phone!!

Then today (Tuesday) I coached the same age groups at the same times, and it was much better today. Then in the afternoon my host family, and two other coaches who I invited along, went to an outdoor swimming pool for a couple of hours, which was really nice and very hot, and we all got quite sunburnt and were nackered for the evening coaching sessions!

So that's pretty much it all so far in short! Also this week we are planning to go the Hall of Fame of American Football, the family are taking me a really good vegetarian restaurant nearby for lunch one day, and we are going to a local Vineyard one night!! Also, it is one of the families daughters birthday on Saturday so we might be celebrating that, as well as watching England vs USA of course!!

Hopefully I will put some photos on later this week, haven't taken many yet but I will - but so far so good!! 😱

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb