2009 SUMMER VACATION


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Dakota
August 8th 2009
Published: August 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We head home today. If you look at the 1st picture you will see that the morning did not dawn with sunshine. Cloudy, and pretty sure it is going to rain on us. Since the weather looks bad we decide to get going right away and find breakfast on the way. From Mobridge we head east on 12 to Hwy 83. Turn north on 83 to take us into ND. It's not raining yet, but doesn't look good.

We come into Herrod SD and I now have to drive in the worst road contruction I can imagine. It was slimy, mud holes, just plain YUK. We get to a flag guy and tells us to turn off through town, head north and then turn back east then we can get back on 83. The street in town was good, I made it through. But now we come to where we get back on 83. OH MY GOD. Of course there is a semi sitting at the corner we have to go around when we turn the corner, not to mention more slimy muck full of mud holes. Steve goes first slips and slides but gets through. Next it's Connie. I thought she was going to go down, but pulled it through and made it. It's my turn. Can I just wait here until they get the road done? OK, take a deep breath, say a prayer and just hope I get through. I did IT! I don't know how but I did. Del was the last one and he made it too.

Back on paved road and we are on our way. Now, it starts to rain, not just rain but pour. When we get to Strasburg ND we pull into the gas station to fill the tanks and put rain gear on. We are pretty much soaked but the rain gear will help a little. We decide we will stop in Linton at the Sisters Cafe to have breakfast.

So, in the rain we take off and head the 9 miles to Linton. We are too late for breakfast, but lunch sounds good. While we are eating and our clothes are drying the rain lets up.

We take hwy 13 east to Wishek. Del and I are behind and when we get there Steve and Connie are waiting, Steve is napping.

Edgeley will be our gas stop and from there we will go on to Fort Ransom. We check out the rooms available for next weekend in Fort Ransom. Have our picture taken and head into Thor's for a drink.

Our last stretch is Hwy 46 through Kindred, Cty Rd 17 through Horace, stop at Kum N Go for gas and then home. It felt good to get home. I had a total of 1141 miles, Del put on 2307.

We had another fun vacaton. Mostly great weather. Alot of good pictures. And I completed my first motorcycle vacationl.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb