Beach and Battleship


Advertisement
Published: August 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Entry #2

The last two weeks ADam and I have been spending time at the local attractions and going to the beach. My parents live in Sunset Beach, NC. The beach is only 2 km from their house. So, I like to go to the beach when I'm here. At about 10 km long, the beach is huge. It's easy to sneak away to the edge of the beach and find a nice bit of solitude.


Walking-Walking:
ADam and I have been using the time at my parents house to relax and also to prepare for our upcoming adventure. The high mountains are coming. ADam and I have been going 'power walking' every day or so on the beach. We're not throwing our arms around like old Ajumas (Korean word for older married women) while we walk, but we are walking briskly. The beach has been a pleasant place to walk and talk and relax. Every evening we've been treated to some awesome sunsets complete with a bunch of barking seagulls and low flying pelicans. The place is called 'Sunset Beach'. It all makes sense.


Battleship USS North Carolina:
Like true tourists, ADam and I wanted to go to a pure tourist attraction. My brother suggested the Battleship exhibit near his house and we were off. The USS North Carolina served for four years during World War II. It was used in the Pacific Ocean while fighting the Japanese and the ship holds a lot of naval records. The most interesting record held by the ship is that only 10 of its sailors died during all the years it was used. We also watched black and white war footage showing the ship in action from 60 years ago. It was a weird feeling playing around with the deck guns that shot down nearly 30 Japanese airplanes.


Chester and Mini Golf:
Years ago I taught at an adult language institute in Seoul. BCM or Min Byung Cheese as we liked to call it was a decent place to teach and make friends. I worked with some awesome teachers: Douglas, Maya, April, and Junky Jung. And, since I did teach adults, I developed some close friendships with some of my students. One of those students was a guy named Chester. Chester now lives in Philidelphia and when he heard I would be sort of near him, Chester flew over to visit me. While here, Chester and I caught-up and grilled hamburgers in the backyard. We also played a few games of miniture golf. It was great seeing him!


Next--->
Tomorrow, I'm heading by train to Washington DC, and then It's back to Seoul for a few days.

Mike and Adam


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



20th August 2007

Cool Stuff Mike!
It's awesome to hear that yall are having such a good well rounded time back in America. I am glad you are enjoying the beach, BBQ, mini golf and old students. Rockin. Cant wait for the update from India!!! . . .I'm off to grad school in ten days! . . .Cheers, Losnick
20th August 2007

metric system?!
Whattup??? I'm glad to see that you and yours are taking in some of history of these fine United States. Love it or leave it, I always say. But what's up with you describing distances in (gasp) kilometers?! Michael Noonan! My heart skipped a beat! In any case, you guys are looking great and I must say that I appreciate ADam's bad-ass looking tattoo. And that picture of Chester is certainly worth 1000 words . . . or at least 100. -Maya "These Colors Don't Run" Jex
20th August 2007

ADam the sailor
I like ADam the sailor -- looking for Zeroes, wearing a cute hat, sporting her tattoo. Call me when you are in Seoul. 016 368-1015. See you. Douglas
21st August 2007

I will enjoy reading your ideas.
22nd August 2007

!!!
just AWESOME!!!
23rd August 2007

Wassap
I am glad to hear you are not working too hard these days. That work shit will kill you if you aren't careful. You and ADam look healthy and happy in all of your pics and I bet she was thrilled to tour a ship that killed so many Japanese :-)) with their history of occupying Korea and everything. I will be in Seoul the end of this month. Hope to see you two when I am there. Happy sailin g ... TBS
25th August 2007

You look good!
I can't write in English what i want to say. ^^; anyway I hope you enjoy your trip.
7th September 2007

OH my god!
Why do you use such a ugly picture? Bad mike!

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb