The Natural History Museum and Central Park


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
February 27th 2015
Published: February 28th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day 7 New York 27thFeb 2015



Today I headed to the Natural History Museum, its HUGE!. The first exhibit I saw was a butterfly exhibit, where you walk into a very hot humid room with loads of butterflies flying around, I had one land on my leg and stay there for about 3 minutes, some of the children there were very jealous of my butterfly, next I went to the time and space exhibition, where starting with the big bang the world formation and inhabitation was described, there are some very cool movie theatres, where you are either standing around looking down into the film or sitting down leaning back as the space and galaxy fly by above your head. It was only fitting that after seeing the galaxy grow and the earth start cooling to allow life, that my next exhibit was Dinosaurs!. The had some huge skeleton models standing around, and also some smaller or more detailed models in cabinets so you could examine them up close, and even some fossils to touch. It was then time for another movie, this one was on the small animals, there was a chipmunk collecting acorns for the long winter and a grasshopper mouse baby becoming independent. It was 4 pm by this stage, I had been at the museum for almost 6 hours, there was still so much to see, I took in one final exhibit before I left, an exhibit on earthquakes, hurricanes, tornadoes and tsunami, there was a lot of interaction displays, that were fun to play with, I made volcanoes, went into a little room with video screens all around as a tornado hit and I tried to guess how the fault lines would break up in an earthquake.

As I headed back towards the bus station, I realised I was right beside Central Park, and I hadn't seen it yet, so I wandered in for a quick visit, the lakes were still frozen and covered with snow,as was all the grass, so some areas were closed off, but I saw lots of very friendly squirrels and many different types of birds, as a rambled around. It is a lovely park and huge, but as it was starting to get dark and really cold again, I didn't stay to much longer there. I would love to visit again, maybe without the snow!.

Well tomorrow is my last day in the New York as that evening I fly to Buenos Aires to continue my adventure

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb