Chocolate, chocolate and more chocolate


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
February 28th 2015
Published: March 1st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day 8 New York 28thFeb 2015



So today I went on a food tour of New York, there are a couple to chose from but as I'm a picky eater, I decided chocolate was the easiest (and tastiest) tour to go on. The tour starts from the Chelsea Market, which is a cool artesian style market. After I left my rucksack in a storage centre, I headed there using my now amazing subway knowledge. The tour is a walking tour, that took about 2 hrs, we stopped in 7 places, yes 7!!!!! and got to try free samples in all these as well as if purchases were made a 10%!d(MISSING)iscount. It was very hard to choose a favourite, but I think the double chocolate cookie from Milk and Cookies is the winner. I got to try a cupcake from Magnolia bakery (made famous by Sex and the City), but I'm sorry I didn't like it, I found the frosting to be too sweet and too much for the size of the cupcake. 😞

I also learned the difference between a Macaroon and a Macaron, and found out I like neither! For those interested and too lazy to google, a Macaroon is made with coconut and a Macaron is made with almond, again these were chocolate with chocolate ganash sticking both sides together. I did like the ganash part of the cookie. 😊 I was glad there was a lot of walking as otherwise the whole tour would have been so full of chocolate and on a serious sugar rush. The tour group ( Great New York Tours) have lots of tours, even a superhero tour and a ghost tour, which I will do when I'm back in New York)

Then it was time for me to catch the train to the airport after collecting my luggage. Now to me in the beginning this process seem very straight forward, however some helpful transit staff did make this far more complicate than needed by first directing to me to wrong train and then having to wait for a train going back in the direction I came in before I could get the correct train to the airport, but eventually I did end up in Newark Airport and checked in for my flight to my next destination, Buenos Aires. I know some of ye tease me for always being early but in this case I was lucky I had left plenty of time to get misdirected and redirected and still be at my gate 1hr 45mins early 😊

Also if I didn't know better I would swear someone told the airports to check me, security at Dublin airport, I was taken aside and swabbed, at USA pre-clearance also in Dublin, taken aside and bag searched and now in Newark, taken aside patted down, swabbed and bag searched, but I just let them get on with it and of course there is nothing for them to find 😊

So next update will be from Argentina!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 35; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb