Thursday...another full day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
April 26th 2012
Published: April 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Thought can't come all the way to New York and NOT do the Empire State Building...could I...even if the weather was forcast to be wet & overcast? You know....given its the iconic NY building and all that. So, back on the subway and headed midtown. I was expecting long waiting lines and security to be time consuming but it all went very smoothly. Impressive art deco building with lots of marble. So, up to floor 86 to the observation deck. Impressive but oh so cold!! Took lots of pictures so will post some. I think because I had already done the Top of the Rock (Rockerfeller Centre) it wasn't quite as awe inspiring. Views were great especially the Chrysler building but less so (than TOR) of Central Park.

Anyway, decided to walk along 5th Avenue to head towards 53rd Ave....a fairly lengthy walk. Manhattan is made for walking though. Its very flat and easy to negotiate. I found out the other day that the topography of Manhattan was changed drastically (by the Dutch) when settling - in that they flattened the whole island - so no hills. The only hilly bits I have seen are some boulders etc in Central Park. Managed not to buy anthying on 5th Ave though...except some lunch.

Arrived at the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA). Very busy - shouldn't have surprised I don't suppose (just that when I've been to the Adelaide Art Gallery its always - ie the 2-3 times I have been there in my life - been very quiet....I know, I know...not a valid comparison but there you go). Spent a couple of hours there and saw some Salvador Daly, Van Gogh and oh...what's his name....Pop Artist...damn name escapes me now.

So, that's most things on my NY 'to do' list done. I haven't done the coach ride in Central Park but gotta leave something for next time...right? Tonight is my last night in this hotel as tomorrow head to Upper East side hotel to meet/greet Tour participants. Saturday...we start our tour of the East Coast USA & Canada...whoohoo.

In the morning will have to pack as have kinda settled in (aka spread out) here (been here nearly 10 days) and will now have to get used to living out of a suitcase in new hotels nearly every night. Will have to be organised I guess.

Cheers.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Another favouriteAnother favourite
Another favourite

Chrysler Building


Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0728s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb